LibGuides: CJ 3346: Research Methods in Criminal Justice and Criminology: CJ Databases

Searching Multiple Databases & Resources at Once

Start Your Research This link opens in a new window
Start Your Research here to search all types of content including articles, books, ebooks, streaming media, dissertations, and more from many different publishers and vendors. Dates vary.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports.
To set your browser to always access Texas State full-text content, locate Settings in Google Scholar, navigate to Library Links, and search for Texas State University-San Marcos -Findit@TxState. Select this and any other resources you would like to access, then Save.

Suggested Databases

Databases come from the Criminal Justice and/or Sociology subjects on the main databases page. The following list resources are considered core research databases for Criminal Justice research.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Criminology & related disciplines, crime trends, crime prevention and deterrence, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, police, courts, punishment and sentencing. International coverage, 1910-present.
Criminal Justice Database This link opens in a new window
Criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections administration, drug enforcement, rehabilitation, family law, and industrial security. Coverage: 1981-present
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of research about corrections, courts, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, drugs, juvenile justice, law enforcement, and victims. 1970 to present.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarship on sociology and related fields (anthropology, criminology, etchnic studies, gender studies, social psychology, substance abuse, urban studies). 1895-present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Sociology, anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, political science, demography, and social psychology.
1966 to present, abstracts 1977 to present
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes to journal articles and book reviews in the social sciences (anthropology, economics, education, philosophy, political science, law, and sociology). 1983-present

Related Databases/Journal Packages:

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Peer reviewed journal articles and books in psychology, counseling and related fields, such as sociology, linguistics, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology. Includes international material selected from more than 2,500 periodicals in more than 27 languages. 1887-present.
Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Communication Studies, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Management & Organization Studies, Materials Science, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, and Urban Studies & Planning.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to over 1,600 Wiley and Blackwell journals and over 22,000 ebooks. 1997 to present, with select journal titles going back further to volume 1.
1997 to present, with select titles back to volume 1.

Tips for Finding Empirical Research

Only a few databases have a simple methods to locate empirical research. Using "empirical" as a keyword will find some studies, but miss others. Consider using terminology recommended by the Criminal Justice Abstracts and Sociological Abstriace subject indexes.

Some useful keywords to add to your search are:

Case Studies
Empirical Methods
Empirical Research
Ethnography
Experiments
Fieldwork
Grounded Theory
Interviews
Qualitative Methods
Qualitative Research
Quantitative Methods
Quantitative Research
Surveys
Research