Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Maximize your keyword searches with Boolean searching. What's Boolean?
AND: veteran* AND "mental* ill*"
OR: disab* OR "special needs"
Use "quotation marks" to search for whole phrases > "social determinants"
Use built in limiting features like full-text or peer review.
Consider truncation (*) to search variations of a word:
MENTOR* will retrieve: mentor, mentoring, mentors, mentorship, etc.
Check Subject terms to see if there are any synonym terms to consider.
Searching for Full Text
If you come across a citation to an article and you'd like to track down its full text, follow the steps below:
Start Your Research (SYR)
1. When searching for the full text of an article, start by searching the "title of an article" (enclosed in "quotation marks") in SYR.
Periodical List (PL)
2. If you're unable to locate the fulltext by searching the article title in SYR, next try searching the "journal title" in PL, which is a searchable list of print/online journals accessible through the University Libraries.
Periodical List: Enter "Journal Title"
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
3. If the Library does not have print/online access to a journal you need an article from, request a copy of the article via ILL.
The example below shows that The Journal of Continuing Higher Education is accessible in print/microform as well as online. The entry also shows coverage dates to indicate which years are accessible.
Have a lot of citations you want to enter in your works cited/references list? Try a citation manager.
Do you need the Web or Desktop version?
A citation management tool that enables you to:
- Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
- Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
- Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.