Welcome
You'll find information about how to find books, search for articles, and about the many services Alkek has to offer you. Alkek Librarians are available to help you via Ask Us! Related Webinar: Joining the Conversation: Writing Style + Literature Reviews
Let's Be Social!
Getting Started | Background Information
Reference Material in the form of subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks typically provide background essays, definitions, broad overviews of various topics, or other pertinent facts.
Sage eReference
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Oxford Bibliographies: Social Work
Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare
Social History of the United States
Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Social Work Speaks : NASW Policy Statements, 2018-2020
Topics
- What are the best practices to implement on a school campus to support the developing identities LGTBQIA+ youth and increase their school belonging?
- Challenges in Remote Mental Health Services for Latinas during COVID-19
- How will mentorship impact the educational outcomes of foster children in extended care?
- Examine the effectiveness of a campaign on educating/eliminating sexual harassment, sexual assault, and domestic violence among the VA Healthcare settings and veteran population
- Food Insecurity for high school students -- this could be broadend to "or teen* or adolescen* or youth*" or "young adult*"
- Barriers of reporting to CPS when children are not present during a domestic violence incident
- Turnover at Child Protective Services
- Therapeutic Art Groups - What impact does art therapy have on high school students’ levels of stress and anxiety?
- In what ways will participation in a socially distanced, trauma-sensitive mindfulness youth group improve social skills and self-regulation in child witnesses of domestic violence at HCWC’s family shelter?
- Does teaching psychoeducational/mindfulness technique classes to males in the maximum-security unit at Travis County Correctional Complex increase their knowledge and likelihood to utilize the learned skills?
- Texas adult felony probation revocation rates -- not enough information
- best practices for | perpetrators | of | military | sexual trauma
- client/clinician | perceptions | of using | telehealth | for | behavioral health services | in relation to | in-person care.
- evaluation of teachers' | knowledge | of | social emotional learning (SEL) | and its effects on the | implementation | in the classroom.
- implementing | evidence based best practices | for | interagency collaboration | between Austin State Hospital and community partners to increase positive outcomes for clients.
- Diversity and inclusion in elementary schools.
- How social isolation impacts dementia
- impacts of clothing needs among low income students -- define "impact"
- creating | curriculum | for | volunteers | working with | elementary | at-risk | youth.
- best practices | for school-based food/supply pantries.
- recreational activities that reduce | anxiety and stress | in | young adults
- poverty and the effects on student academic performance
- how | culture | affects | access | to | community resources
- therapeutic interventions that couple well with crisis work and create an educational tool for social workers on how they can incorporate this into their crisis evaluations for psych patients.
- Mindfulness-based therapy impacts biopsychosocial functioning in acute care settings
- supporting literacy in low income rural students
- Behavioral Health Interventions with COPD patients with Depression and Smoking Cessation
