| Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (refers to Desktop EndNote)
- Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.
This is a browser extension - if you find an article on the web, it will bring you to the full-text through TXST Libraries. This tool can also help with alerting you to journals considered "Problematic" (potentially predatory).
Civil Engineering Databases
- ASCE Library This link opens in a new window
Books, standards, proceedings, and journals on todays engineering methods and technologies, from design and planning through application in the field. 1985-2025.
- ASTM COMPASS This link opens in a new window
Active and historical versions of all ASTM standards plus all ASTM published manuals, symposia papers, journals, books, and research reports covering metals, petroleum, construction, and the environment.
- ASM Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
The industry's best known and most comprehensive source of information on metals and materials technology. 1990 to present.
- ProQuest SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowOur largest science and technology database from ProQuest which contains all of the content of more subject specific databases including AGRICOLA; Materials Science Collection; Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database; Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts; Agricultural & Environmental Science Database and much more.
- Transport Indicators This link opens in a new window
Transport indicators cover freight, container and passenger transport, car registrations, road deaths and spending on infrastructure.
Browzine
BrowZine is an app available through Texas State University Libraries and allows you to browse academic journals by subject, easily review tables of contents, and download full articles.
Stay Current by creating a personal bookshelf of titles to follow and receive new issue and new article notifications. Get access on your computer, mobile device, or phone. Download the app for or Apple and android devices.