It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Concrete Industry Management: Finding Articles
This guide was created to support research in Concrete Industry Management. For more general Engineering Technology resources, visit the Engineering & Engineering Technology guide linked below.
Databases are electronic indexes that provide searchable "lists" of articles that have been published in journals, popular magazines, newspapers, or other items on almost any subject you can think of!
Many of the databases contain full text, meaning that the entire article is available in the database, either in PDF or HTML format. Some databases do not contain full text articles. To find the full text of an article, use the Full Text Finder button or check the Periodical List.
The library has access to more than 600 databases, and choosing one is the first step for successful searching. You can choose a research database by Subject, by Name, or by Type. Try a database specific to your subject area for more advanced research by using the databases listed under By Subject.
BrowZine for Construction Engineering
What is Full Text Finder?
Look for a link like this one in the results list:
Full Text Finder is a process that will search all of the library's databases to see if the full text is available.
If the full-text article is available in a different database, the Full Text Finder results page will give you a direct link to it.
If the full-text article is NOT available in any database, you have a couple of options:
First, check the Periodical List—the library may have a print copy of that journal instead of an electronic version. Learn more about requesting access to print journals in this FAQ.
If the library does not own a print copy, request a copy of the article through InterLibrary Loan. Hint: if you use the link to ILLiad on the Full Text Finder results page, it will automatically fill in your request form.
COVID-19 Update: The Interlibrary Loan unit at Texas State has resumed normal operations. However, due to many libraries still being closed and not lending physical items, it may be difficult or slower than usual to obtain some items. Please be patient!
ILL is a free lending service available to current Texas State students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that Alkek Library does not own such as journal articles, books, DVDs, CDs—anything you might need for your research.
Use ILLiad, the online Interlibrary Loan request, to order your ILL items. Enter as much information as you know about the item you need, and the ILL staff will try to track it down.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.245.4893 or email with additional questions. Items can be picked up at the Checkout Desk on the 3rd floor of the Library.
Special Publications from American Concrete Institute symposiums. An SP may include papers from convention sessions, papers submitted but not presented, and other papers dealing with the same subject matter received by the Institute and approved by the sponsoring committee for inclusion.
Materials Science & Engineering. A comprehensive guide to the structure, properties, processing, performance, and evaluation of metals and nonmetallic engineering materials. Written and reviewed by experts, the volumes in the series provide trusted and in-depth articles, illustrations, graphs, tables, and practical examples on key topics related to the engineering applications of materials. 1990- present.
Coverage: 1990 to present
Engineering, Technology, Chemistry, Environmental Studies. ASTM COMPASS includes over 13,000 active ASTM standards and historical versions, all published manuals, technical publications, symposia papers, journals, monographs, data series, and research reports covering metals, petroleum, construction, the environment, and more.
Covered Engineering disciplines include Aerospace, Biomedical, Civil, Electrical, Environmental, Mechanical, Software, and Structural. This database offers more than 3000 full text journals, trade magazines, ebooks, conference papers and proceedings.