Dublin Core Element Definitions
Look at Terms
| Category |
Master Database Field |
Dublin Core Metadata Term |
Dublin Core Element Definition |
Local Entry Notes | Proposed Music Photography Metadata |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Administrative | Data Digitized | Administrative metadata | Date digitized: YYYY-MM-DD | Date Digitized | |
| Administrative | Digitized by | Administrative metadata | Last, First | Digitized by | |
| Administrative | Note - Condition | Administrative metadata | Local definition: Condition/Quality of original that impacts digital resource |
Brief description of condition. Examples:
|
Condition |
| Administrative | File Location |
dc.identifier Administrative metadata |
Local definition: Folder location for accessing digital resource |
Use full path. Example: UL-Repository /Access/Wittliff/Atkinson_MP3 |
File Location |
| Category |
Master Database Field |
Dublin Core Metadata Term |
Dublin Core Element Definition |
Local Entry Notes | Proposed Music Photography Metadata |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Object | Notes - Label Information | dc.description |
An account of the resource. Description may include but is not limited to:
|
Verbatim text from physical object (e.g., tape label, box label, back of photograph |
Notes [Caption or writing on front or back of image] |
| Object |
Format - Size [Number of pages; dimensions] |
dc.format | The file format, physical medium, or dimensions of the resource. | Examples: 121 pages or 8x10 inches |
Format - Size [Dimensions of original image] |
| Object | Object Format | dc.format | The file format, physical medium, or dimensions of the resource. |
Format of original object: Audiocassette; VHS; Reel-to-Reel; Umatic tape; Black and white photograph; Color photograph; Slide; Negative; Using AAT would help standardize this |
Format [B/W photograph; Color photograph; Slide; Negative...] |
| Object | Language |
dc.language |
A language of the resource. |
Language - written or spoken |
|
| Object | Publisher | dc.publisher | An entity responsible for making the resource available. | I | |
| Object | Rights Statement | dc.rights |
Information about rights held in and over the resource. Typically, rights information includes statement about various property rights associated with the resource, including intellectual property rights. |
Need a boiler plate. With link to Wittliff use info. OR rightsstatements.org | Rights Statement |
| Object | Note - General | dc.subject | |||
| Object | Subject | dc.subject |
The topic of the resource. Typically, the subject will be represented using keywords, key phrases, or classification codes. Recommended best practice is to use a controlled vocabulary such as Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH). |
For multiple subjects, separate values with semicolon | Musicians, venues, locations and other subjects as needed |
| Object | Title | dc.title | A name given to the resource. | If there is not a clear title for the object, compose a brief description. Use brackets to denote composed title? | Title |
| Object | Digital Object Type | dc.type |
The nature or genre of the resource. Recommended practice is to use a controlled vocabulary such as the DCMI Type Vocabulary [DCMI-TYPE], Collection, Dataset, Event, Image, Interactive Resource, Moving Image, Physical Object, Service, Software, Sound, Still Image, Text. To describe the file format, physical medium, or dimensions of the resource, use the Format element. |
|
Type [Image] |
| Category |
Master Database Field |
Dublin Core Metadata Term |
Dublin Core Element Definition |
Local Entry Notes | Proposed Music Photography Metadata |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Object/Resource | Contributor Name | dc.contributor | An entity responsible for making contributions to the resource. |
Interviewee; Recipient of letter; Translator, etc. Last, First, dates (if known) |
Contributor [Record label or studio] |
| Object/Resource | Location | dc.coverage |
The spatial or temporal topic of the resource, spatial applicability of the resource, or jurisdiction under which the resource is relevant. Spatial topic and spatial applicability may be a named place or a location specified by its geographic coordinates. Temporal topic may be a named period, date, or date range. A jurisdiction may be a named administrative entity or a geographic place to which the resource applies. Recommended practice is to use a controlled vocabulary such as the Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names [TGN]. Where appropriate, named places or time periods may be used in preference to numeric identifiers such as sets of coordinates or date ranges. |
For multiple coverage statements, either repeat the property or separate values with a semicolon. |
Digitized by |
| Object/Resource | Creator | dc.creator | An entity responsible for making contributions to the resource. |
Last, First, dates (if known) |
Creator [Photographer] |
| Object/Resource | Date Created |
dc.date |
A point or period of time associated with an event in the lifecycle of the resource. Date may be used to express temporal information at any level of granularity. Recommended practice is to express the date, date/time, or period of time according to ISO 8601-1 [ISO 8601-1] or a published profile of the ISO standard, such as the W3C Note on Date and Time Formats [W3CDTF] or the Extended Date/Time Format Specification [EDTF]. If the full date is unknown, month and year (YYYY-MM) or just year (YYYY) may be used. Date ranges may be specified using ISO 8601 period of time specification in which start and end dates are separated by a '/' (slash) character. Either the start or end date may be missing. |
Date of creation or original object: YYYY-MM-DD / YYYY / YYYY-MM / YYYY-YYYY. How to approach updated material? Use "Undated" or ca.[YYYY}? |
Date |
| Object/Resource | Description | dc.description |
An account of the resource. Description may include but is not limited to: an abstract, a table of contents, a graphical representation, or a free-text account of the resource. |
Textual description of the content of the object/resource | Description |
| Object/Resource |
Extent [Hr:Min:Sec] |
dc.extent | The size or duration of the resource; recommended practice to specify file size in megabytes and duration in ISO 8601 format. |
Length in time. Example:
|
| Category |
Master Database Field |
Dublin Core Metadata Term |
Dublin Core Element Definition |
Local Entry Notes | Proposed Music Photography Metadata |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Resource | Extent [MBs] | dc.extent | The size or duration of the resource; recommended practice to specify file size in megabytes and duration in ISO 8601 format. |
Size of resource. Examples: 12 MB or 1.1 GB. Generally consists of both a numeric value and a caption that is needed to interpret the numeric value. Best practice is to separate the numeric value and the caption with a space, whether the caption appears before or after the value. |
File Size |
| Resource | Digital Object Format | dc.format | The file format, physical medium, or dimensions of the resource. | Examples: jpeg, mov, mp3, avi, pdf, tif, wav | File Format |
| Resource |
Filename [Identifier] |
dc.identifier | An unambiguous reference to the resource within a given context. |
From metadata sheet. Should follow some file naming convention, like CollectionName_001 or Accession#_001 |
Filename |
| Resource | MediaFlo Link |
dc.identifier Administrative metadata |
Link to access file on MediaFlo (if applicable) |
MediaFlo link |
File Location |
| Category |
Master Database Field |
Dublin Core Metadata Term |
Dublin Core Element Definition |
Local Entry Notes | Proposed Music Photography Metadata |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Source | Collection Title | dc.source |
Use when the resource is the result of digitization of non-digital originals. In these cases, sufficient information to identify and find the original resource is provided. |
Use Collection Name from Finding Aid, follow DACS [Creator Name] + [Content Type] |
Collection Title |
| Source |
Collection Identifier [e.g., SWWC-140 or Acc. 2018-180] |
dc.source |
Use when the resource is the result of digitization of non-digital originals. In these cases, sufficient information to identify and find the original resource is provided. |
Use Collection # from Finding aid, or Accession # (e.g. SWWC-140 or Acc. 2018-180) |
Collection Identifier |
| Source |
Location - Call number |
dc.source |
Use when the resource is the result of digitization of non-digital originals. In these cases, sufficient information to identify and find the original resource is provided. |
LC call number from Sierra |
|
| Source | Location - Container |
dc.source |
Use when the resource is the result of digitization of non-digital originals. In these cases, sufficient information to identify and find the original resource is provided. |
Identifier plus number: e.g. Box 1; Map case Drawer 15 |
Box |
| Source | Location - Folder | dc.source |
Use when the resource is the result of digitization of non-digital originals. In these cases, sufficient information to identify and find the original resource is provided. |
Identifier plus number: e.g., Folder 6 | Folder |
| Source |
Object Identifier (eventually Tape & Side together 001A or 006B?) |
dc.source |
Use when the resource is the result of digitization of non-digital originals. In these cases, sufficient information to identify and find the original resource is provided. |
Identifier plus number: e.g., Tape 001 or Reel 251 | TBD object identifier |
| Source | Object Identifier 2 | dc.source |
Use when the resource is the result of digitization of non-digital originals. In these cases, sufficient information to identify and find the original resource is provided. |
*** Eventually merge this with the Object Identifier above so that it's Tape 001A instead of Tape 001 above and then Side A in this field |