HIST 3359: African American History

Many popular newspapers, dating back as far as the 19th century. Includes Black Historical Newspapers. Access for each paper begins with the first issue published, end dates are varied and evolving.

Primary source material, including FBI records, court cases, and newspaper articles focused on six different phases of Black Freedom from 1790 to 2000s.

Contributions to arts, entertainment, sciences, business, military, and politics from prominent individuals as well as nameless others who endured the travails of slavery and institutionalized discrimination. Late 1700s to present.

Primary resource material revealing the challenges of everyday African Americans in Atlanta, Chicago, New York and North Carolina in the early 1800s to early 2000s.

Documents three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights in America through the eyes and work of sociologists, activists, psychologists, teachers, ministers, students and housewives.1928-1976

Primary sources on slavery in four parts: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Institution of Slavery, and Age of Emancipation. 1490-1896.

Legal and non-legal material on slavery. It includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. 1694-2006

Developed with the American Theological Library Association, this archive preserved endangered newspapers, magazines and annuals related to African American religious life and culture. 1829-1922.

Online, searchable database based on the work of C. Peter Ripley and George E. Carter, “who recognized that African Americans were a pivotal and persuasive force in the 19th-century anti-slavery movement but that their work had been virtually ignored in scholarship prior to this collection. The team painstakingly identified African American activists through countless hours of research and scrutiny, bringing to light many names previously lost to history. Primary documents were gathered from over 100 libraries and archives across the world. The set was microfilmed and published in 1981 and quickly established a significant shift in historical scholarship regarding Black leadership, activism, and community life during this period.” The collection covers the period 1830-1865 and contains approximately 15,000 documents; about 30% are handwritten manuscripts. (ProQuest).

Hundreds of plays from African and African diaspora playwrights including rare and previously unpublished plays by Langston Hughes, Ed Bullins, Willis Richardson, Amiri Baraka, and many others. Mid-1800s to present.

News, culture, and history from 300 publications of ethnic, minority, and native presses. 1990-present.

“Drawn from the holdings of the New-York Historical Society, this database contains letters, diaries, administrative records, photographs and illustrations relating to the Civil War. Presents both Northern and Southern perspectives. Highlights include soldiers’ diaries chronicling daily life and experiences as prisoners of war, Union Defence Committee records, and Confederate Army records.” (Ebsco). 1861-1865