A note about subject headings
When searching a database or the library catalog, use the following recommended keywords or subject words for African-American studies material:
"African-American" OR "Afro-American" OR "Black" OR "Negro"
Different indexing words were used during different time periods, so the best search term depends on the publication date of the material.
To locate items from a variety of dates, string all of the various search term together like this:
(African-American OR Afro-American OR Black OR Negro)
Books on African American history are usually assigned the Library of Congress Call number E185.
You can also search by call number in the library catalog if you wish to browse in any particular area without checking the physical shelf in the library.
More subject terms-
Keywords for African American Studies by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781479852833Publication Date: 2018-Introduces key terms, interdisciplinary research, debates, and histories for African American Studies As the longest-standing interdisciplinary field, African American Studies has laid the foundation for critically analyzing issues of race, ethnicity, and culture within the academy and beyond. This volume assembles the keywords of this field for the first time, exploring not only the history of those categories but their continued relevance in the contemporary moment. Taking up a vast array of issues such as slavery, colonialism, prison expansion, sexuality, gender, feminism, war, and popular culture, Keywords for African American Studies showcases the startling breadth that characterizes the field. Featuring an august group of contributors across the social sciences and the humanities, the keywords assembled within the pages of this volume exemplify the depth and range of scholarly inquiry into Black life in the United States. Connecting lineages of Black knowledge production to contemporary considerations of race, gender, class, and sexuality, Keywords for African American Studies provides a model for how the scholarship of the field can meet the challenges of our social world.
Bibliographies
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new windowMany bibliographies dealing with various aspects of African American life/culture in the U.S. and beyond.
Do a keyword search on the main page to explore the various bibliographies.
The African American Experience by Call Number: Alkek General, Floor 5 E184.65 .A37 2001ISBN: 9780313298387Publication Date: 2001
The Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: Alkek General, Floor 5 E185.61 .M93 1993ISBN: 9780816118373Publication Date: 1993Bibliography of publications about the Civil Rights Movement in the southern United States between 1955 and 1968.
Background Information
Africana by Call Number: Alkek General, Floor 5 DT14 .A37435 2005 LIB USE ONLYISBN: 0195170555Publication Date: 2005
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights : from emancipation to the twenty-first centuryPublication Date: 2003The African American struggle for freedom and equality is one of the truly heroic elements of American history. Yet even today, African Americans as a whole still don't fully share in the American dream. This encyclopedia explores the struggle's successes and setbacks, from emancipation to the beginning of the 21st century.- The African-American Mosaic by Call Number: Ebook + PrintISBN: 9780844408002Publication Date: 1993Library of Congress resource guide for the study of Black history and culture
Books from other libraries
If you are interested in books which are not owned by the Alkek Library, they can be requested via our Interlibrary Loan service and we will borrow them from another library. This is a free service available to current Texas State Students, Faculty, Staff. NOTE: This process takes 7-10 days for books.
To request a book, open our ILLIAD link for interlibrary loan and fill out the online request form.
If you have not used the service before, just click near the bottom of the page at the "First time users" link to set up your free account.
WorldCat is a database to look at to find out which libraries own books that might not be available in the Alkek Library. Use the "request this item via ILL" link in each record to generate an ILL request to Texas State.
Library of Congress is a great source of information as well. In addition to the extensive catalog of books, a lot of digital primary source materials and other information is available here as well.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA great source for digitized books from research libraries around the U.S. Books can be downloaded and are fully searchable.
