Background Information
Step 2: Find Background Information
Background information gives you an understanding of your main concepts so that you can do your journal research more effectively. Here's how...
- Search your main ideas, events, or people individually using reference materials (dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc...see the boxes below for ideas),
(These first searches can be as simple as looking up the term hell in an encyclopedia for a specific religious tradition)
- And be sure to stay on the lookout for other useful keywords for in-depth article searching!
Religion Reference Materials
Choose a specific encyclopedia and use it to search for more specific keywords and primary source information. Just follow the instructions in the box below this one.
- Encyclopedia of African Religion
- Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity
- Encyclopedia of Buddhism (Buswell)
- Encyclopedia of Buddhism (Irons)
- Encyclopedia of Catholicism
- Encyclopedia of Demons in World Religions and Cultures
- Encyclopedia of Global Religion
- Encyclopedia of Hinduism
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
- Encyclopedia of Judaism
- Encyclopedia of Religion
- Encyclopedia of Religion in America
- Religions of the World: a Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices
- Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America
- Sage Encyclopedia of the Sociology of Religion
Searching Encyclopedias
If the encyclopedia is in our CREDO Reference database, it will look like this...just type hell on the "Search within this title" search bar to find general information about hell in Buddhism. (That general information will lead you to more specific information, I promise!)
If the encyclopedia is a stand-alone e-book, it will look something like this...again, use the "Search within this title" search bar!
Credo Reference
Not sure about your topic and looking for ideas?
CREDO can be a great way to start - use the mind-map (it's clickable), or search through multiple encyclopedias at once.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOver 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
Definitely use the subject-specialty encyclopedias!
