Skip to Main Content

ARTS 2321 - ARTS 4325: Drawing: Images

This course guide was created for drawing students in ARTS 2321, ARTS 3322, ARTS 3323, ARTS 3324, ARTS, and ARTS 4325

Art & Design Image Databases

This is a list of image database related to art and design, BUT if you need other types of images there are many more on the Image Databases page.

Finding Images

Please see the Finding Images Research Guide for more information on finding images and copyright information on using them.

Check for available dates for when the Finding Images Workshop will be offered if you would like to attend.

Finding Images in Image Databases and Books

You can see a list of all the library's image databases from the "By Type" drop down menu on the Research Databases page. Or use the list to the left here.

You can also check the library catalog for art books with images. Just use the keyword for the type of image you want and an abbreviation like ill or illus for illustration. Example: birds and ill or type in birds and illus. Other words for finding images that you can use in catalog searches are pictoral works, illustration, or "___ in art", for example "flowers in art".

We do own the Illustration Index, Sculpture Index, and Havlice's World Painting Index (tells you what book has a reproduction or illustration of known works by known artists) and Martha Moss's Photography Books Index, volumes I and II, a subject guide to photo anthologies. If you do a keyword search under “catalogue raisonne” you will get all the books of the complete works (catalogue raisonne) of particular artists.

For visual communication, “mass communication,” “advertising,” and “marketing” are subject headings that can have image books. For example, if you do a keyword search using "advertising and annual” you will see all the titles we have that are advertising awarded images and campaigns (Annual Clio, National Addy, Graphis, Art Director's Annual, Photo Annual, Major marketing campaigns annual). If you look under the subject heading “Advertising Campaign – Periodicals”, you will see others.

Finding Exhibition Catalogs

All exhibition catalogs are not kept in one place on any floor.  

Try a search in the library catalog for the topic word, such as music, art, an artist's name, photography, history or a historical or cultural event with the word "and" and the word "exhibition". You don’t need the word “catalog” unless you really want to limit the results because there are some items with “catalog” in the subject heading. Using just the word “exhibition” will get you a lot more results as it is a more common subject heading with another subject.  For example, searching the library catalog for "music and exhibition" will get you over 100 results which you could narrow down to just under 100 and only books that you can check out by limiting to Alkek General Collection. If you add the word "catalog" it narrows it down to under 30 so you may be missing some good ones by addiing the word "catalog".

 If you have any questions please contact the Art & Design Librarian Tara Smith.

 

Finding Artists' Books

How to Search for Artists' Books, interesting formats or handmade, in the Library Catalog

From the library catalog https://txst.locate.ebsco.com/search 
change the Keyword drop down to Subject and type in artists books and hit search.
 
Then from one of the artists' books records, find the link that says Artists' Books Collection under the title where it says "By" and click that link or you can look at the box on this page in the top left-hand corner and use the Artists' Books Collection Link.
 
Click on image to see details

 



 

Open Licenses Librarian, Arts & Humanities Team Librarian

Profile Photo
Tara Spies Smith
She/Her/Hers
Contact:
512-408-3732