SOWK 4374: Beginning Field Practice in Social Work: Home

Reference Material in the form of subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks typically provide background essays, definitions, broad overviews of various topics, or other pertinent facts.

Sage eReference
Encyclopedia of Social Work
Oxford Bibliographies: Social Work

Comprehensive Handbook of Social Work and Social Welfare
Social History of the United States
Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Social Work Speaks : NASW Policy Statements, 2018-2020

Topics

1. How visitation rooms influence cps cases -- you could leave this broad to "influence etc." or define what you mean by influence specifically.
   ( "child protective services" or "child welfare" or "child protection" ) AND visit* AND ( effects or impact or consequences or influence or outcomes or effectiveness or efficacy or benefits )

2. Middle schoolers impacted by online learning. -- define impact, for example, do you mean impact on their learning, or maybe socialization/mental health?
   ( "middle school*" or "junior high" ) AND ( "online learning" or "e-learning" or "distance learning" or "virtual learning" or "remote learning" )

3. Improving academics and school engagement through one on one support. -- "school engagement" could be broadened out to "academic achievement" and limited to a certain level, like elementary or secondary or higher education
   ( "school engagement" or "student engagement" or "academic engagement" or disengagement ) AND ( "one on one" or individual* )

4. My topic is literacy as I will be creating a reading buddie/book buddies group at my elementary school placement site.
   ( "reading buddies" or "book buddies" ) AND ( elementary or primary or "early childhood" )

5. How simplifying the SNAP application process can benefit older adults and individuals with disabilities
   ( "supplemental nutrition assistance program" or "Community Food Services" ) AND ( disab* or "special needs" )

6. Social workers and law enforcement
   ( "social worker*" or "social services" ) AND ( "law enforcement" or police )

7. Parent Support Programs -- define "support" ; I limited the search to disciplines for some focus ideas
   "Parent* Support" AND ( group* or program* )

8. Job Readiness training to prepare inmates to enter the workforce
   ( "Job Readiness" or "employment readiness" or "Career Readiness" or "job training" or "job skills" ) AND ( inmates or prison* or incarcerated )

9. Mental health psycho-education impact beliefs about mental health among Latinx inmates -- I couldn't get anymore specific than the keywords below
   ( "psycho education" or psychoeducation* ) AND ( inmates or prison* or incarcerated )

10. Service provision/delivery of health care during the process of aging out of foster care.
    ( "aging out" or "age* out" ) AND ( fostercare or "foster care" or "foster system" or "foster children" or "foster youth*" )