Recommended Databases
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks from major university presses on literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
- Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowEnglish & American poetry, prose and drama from the 8th century to the present day plus journals, criticism & reference resources on authors and their works.
- Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive dictionary of the English language. Traces the development of English words from approximately 1150 AD up to the present day.
OED tutorials - Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Search across Dictionary of Literary Biography, Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Gale ebooks, Something About the Author, Scribner Writers, and Twayne's Author series.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large full-text multidisciplinary collection of scholarly journals, trade/professional publications, and newspapers. 1887-present.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new windowComprehensive database indexing articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics. Over 1000 of the indexed journals have full text. 1916-present.
