Database for Scholarly Articles & Primary Sources
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Contributions to arts, entertainment, sciences, business, military, and politics from prominent individuals as well as nameless others who endured the travails of slavery and institutionalized discrimination. Late 1700s to present.
- African American Historical Serials This link opens in a new window
Developed with the American Theological Library Association, this archive preserved endangered newspapers, magazines and annuals related to African American religious life and culture. 1829-1922.
- Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new windowArticles from many respected grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. It offers a wide range of unfettered, critical coverage of the news. 1995 to present.
- Alternative Press Index & Archive This link opens in a new window
Index to articles in international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Topics include indigenous peoples, LGBTQIA, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. 1969 to present.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowUnited States and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications. Indexing from 1895, full text from 1935.
- American Civil Liberties Union Papers, parts I and II This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the struggle for civil rights and U.S. Supreme Court issues related to civil liberties, race and gender. 1912-1990.
- American Indian Experience This link opens in a new window
Articles and primary sources on the history and culture of indigenous peoples from precontact through the 21st century. Includes treaties, speeches, captivity narratives, traditional storytelling, maps, photographs, and video.
- Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America This link opens in a new window
Primary sources providing a unique insight into interactions between indigenous people of North America and Europeans from their earliest contact, through the American Civil War and the civil rights movement of the 20th century. 16th-20th century.
- Black Freedom Struggle In the United States This link opens in a new window
Primary source material, including FBI records, court cases, and newspaper articles focused on six different phases of Black Freedom from 1790 to 2000s.
- Hispanic American Periodical Index (HAPI Online) This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals published in Latin America or covering Latin American and U.S. Hispanic topics. 1970 to present
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks from major university presses on literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window
Covers themes such as civil rights, counter culture, left movements, right movements, sexual revolution, student activism, and the Vietnam War. 1960 to 1974.
Finding Articles
The library subscribes to many resources for finding both scholarly and newspaper articles. Please consult the library databases page for a full list of resources. Remember that social movements impact fields beyond history. You may find helpful information in related disciplines. The lists below provide some starting points for both historical and current research.