Streaming Films
The library subscribes to many databases of streaming films. We do not have access to all films in all databases. the catalog is a great place to start when you have a title or subject of a film and you want to know what the library has. Be sure to limit your search (pull-down menu to right if search box) to "Streaming Media" to locate streaming resources.
Some of the most useful databases of streaming material for history are listed below-
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multidisciplinary academic streaming video collection. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage.
- Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Educational, close-captioned videos on all subject areas. Includes archival film and newsreels, documentaries and films from producers such as A&E, BBC learning, and PBS.An external tool is available in Canvas to embed Films on Demand videos.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos from BBC, PBS, Documentary Educational Resources, Criterion Collection and others. The platform allows you to make playlists and clips, and share links.
NOTE: Not all films in the Kanopy database are available from the library. Be sure to check the title/topic you are looking for in the online catalog. Kanopy films we have are cataloged, along with those from other services. So, the film may be available from another source.