Library Catalog
Use the Library Catalog to search for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details. The library catalog is a type of database, so you can use the same search strategies you would use in a database, including "phrase searching," Boolean operators, and truncation.
Finding books written by teenagers can be a challenge when using the library catalog.
Success will depend upon search terms, since the catalog does not classify books by age of the author.
Using the ADVANCED search functions (below main search box below) of the catalog will be beneficial.
Advanced screens allow for putting keywords to be found within subject headings or other catalog record fields.
Primary Primary Documents
The library subscribes to many databases containing primary sources. Below are a few suggestions for historical research-
- Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new windowVariety of primary sources from the 15th to the 21st centuries. Includes 19th Century UK Periodicals; 19th Century US Newspapers; Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO); The Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths-Kress Library of Economic Literature, 1450-1850; 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; Archives Unbound; Times Digital Archive; Illustrated London News Historical Archive; Sunday Times Digital Archive; American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990; Archives of Sexuality & Gender; Archives Unbound; Associated Press Collections; British Library Newspapers; Sabin Americana, 1500-2013; Religions of America.
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window
Covers themes such as civil rights, counter culture, left movements, right movements, sexual revolution, student activism, and the Vietnam War. 1960 to 1974.
- AT GETTYSBURG OR What a Girl Saw and Heard Of the Battle. A TRUE NARRATIVE. BY MRS. TILLIE (PIERCE) ALLEMAN.Author was 15 years old at the time of the battle
This book was published in 1889. 2013 book listed in box at right is based on this work. - Children in the Civil War- Digital Historywebsites provides excerpts of children's experiences. Check Library catalog for the books quoted (see tab for teacher resources for info on the books) Both are available in print at the library
IMPORTANT NOTE: Excerpts provided on the website above are NOT sufficient for your research. You must utilize the actual books referenced via the library catalog (see box above on this page)
Keywords/subjects in Catalog
The library at Texas State uses the same cataloging system as the Library of Congress.
It is important to remember that the computer will only find the exact words that are put in any search boxes.
See the "search strategies" tab above for some ways to customize your search.
Some good keywords and search strategies (see tab above for more on strategic searching) are listed below-
Keywords- diary, letters, memoir, personal narrative, teen, juvenile, young, boy, girl, etc....
Truncation- using a wildcard • (teen, teens, or teenager= teen*
Grouping keywords together: using ( )
Example: (diary or narrative) and teen*
Below is a list of examples of books written (or containing) accounts of teenagers/youth.
Click on the title to see the full record in the catalog, be sure to notice the subject headings, near the bottom of the screen for each record.
Using these types of keywords to examine specific events or time periods is a good search strategy for finding resources.
Becoming American:young people in the American Revolution by Call Number: ARC Juvenile E275 .Z34 1993 c.2ISBN: 9780208023551Publication Date: 1993
Tillie Pierce by Call Number: ARC Juvenile E475.53 .A55 2013 c.2ISBN: 1467706922Publication Date: 2013- Discovery of the world : a political awakening in the shadow of Mussolini by Call Number: Alkek General, Floor 5 DG571 .C426513 2014ISBN: 40023904989Publication Date: 2014
We Are Witnesses by Call Number: Alkek Juvenile Collection, Floor 3 D804.3 .W385 1995ISBN: 9780805037029Publication Date: 1995- The complete Marjory Fleming; her journals, letters & verses, by Call Number: E-bookPublication Date: 1935Writings of a Scottish girl born Jan. 1803, who died at age nine, and was immortalized by Dr. John Brown in his essay Pet Marjorie (1863).
The Diary of Anne Frank by Call Number: Alkek General, Floor 5 DS135.N6 F73313 1989ISBN: 9780385240239Publication Date: 1989-05-12A comparison of the three versions of Anne Frank's diary; Anne's original entries, including never-before-published material; the diary as she herself edited it while in hiding; and the best-known version, edited by her father. B & W photographs throughout
Child of the Civil Rights Movement by Call Number: Alkek Juvenile Collection, Floor 3 F334.S4 S54 2010ISBN: 9780375843143Publication Date: 2009Paula Young Shelton, daughter of Civil Rights activist Andrew Young, brings a child's unique perspective to an important chapter in America's history.
