Accessing books and ebooks
From this page you can find books and ebooks, as well as request a TexShare card that allows you to borrow books from other libraries.
Library Catalog
The Library Catalog is like a store catalog - it's a list of items available at the University Libraries.
Use the Library Catalog to search for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details. The library catalog is a type of database, so you can use the same search strategies you would use in a database, including "phrase searching," Boolean operators, and truncation. To find ebooks, change the drop-down menu from Search Entire Collection to E Books.
eBook Collections
- Springer eBook Collection This link opens in a new window English language books published by Springer since 2005 covering a variety of subjects. Some book series and Lecture Notes from 1995 to present.
- Taylor & Francis eBooks This link opens in a new window Academic, science, technology, and medical books from Taylor & Francis and its imprints, CRC Press, Routledge, and Garland.
- O'Reilly This link opens in a new window Skill development and certification guides in a wide range of technology including artificial intelligence, enterprise business applications, game development, mobile applications, operating systems, programming languages, and much more. Current editions.
- IET Digital Library This link opens in a new window Engineering & Technology books offering new perspectives and developments in emerging subject areas like healthcare technologies and cyber security, as well as traditional engineering. 2009- present.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window Encyclopedias, handbooks, ebooks, and videos published by Sage and CQ Press. 2000 to present
Requesting materials from University Libraries
If you are a student in a distance course and want library materials delivered to you, use the Distance Request Form.
TexShare
- TexShareA TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at participating libraries.
- Cards are valid for 1 long semester.
- Materials must be returned to the same library from which they were borrowed.
- You are responsible for any charges for lost or damaged materials.
- Students that do not return items will have "holds" placed on their records. This will prevent you from registering for classes, obtaining transcripts/grades.
Recommend a Purchase
The University Libraries has A LOT of information but by no means everything. If you have a suggestion for a book, e-book or some other item (not journals or articles) that you think the library ought to have in its collection, recommend a purchase to the library!