Suggested Library Databases (Mostly Primary Sources)
- Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800 Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819 and Caribbean History & Culture, 1535-1920 This link opens in a new window
Contains virtually every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in the American colonies or the United States between 1639 and 1920.
- ProQuest Civil War Era This link opens in a new windowCovers a vast range of topics including the formative economic factors and other forces that led to the abolitionist movement, the 600,000 battle casualties, and the emancipation of nearly 4 million slaves. 1840-1865.
- Civil War Primary Documents This link opens in a new windowLetters, diaries, administrative records, photographs and illustrations from both Northern and Southern perspectives. Showcases the daily life and experiences of prisoners of war. 1861-1865.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary sources on slavery in four parts: Debates over Slavery and Abolition, Slave Trade in the Atlantic World, Institution of Slavery, and Age of Emancipation. 1490-1896.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
Primary source material on the cultural change between 1950-1975. Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest, fashion, civil rights, Vietnam, student activism, and underground publications.
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window
Covers themes such as civil rights, counter culture, left movements, right movements, sexual revolution, student activism, and the Vietnam War. 1960 to 1974.
Suggested Library Databases (Mostly Secondary Sources)
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowUnited States and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications. Indexing from 1895, full text from 1935.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
A digital collective of books and journals from numerous academic and research libraries around the world.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
News, culture, and history from 300 publications of ethnic, minority, and native presses. 1990-present.
- ATLA Religion with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
The main religion and theology database. Produced by the American Theological library Association. 1908 to present.
- Oxford Bibliographies-Atlantic History-QuakersBibliography providing overview of works on Quakers.
Texas State does not own all of these but, check the llinks and use interlibrary loan if needed.
Some Journals to Look For
You can use the indexes in the box on the left to search for articles in specific journals. Here are a few titles that may be useful-
Quaker History (Indexed in America: History & Life 1957-Present and JSTOR 1962-1997)
Southern Friend (Indexed in America: History & Life 1979-2007 Only)
Quaker Studies (Indexed in ATLA Religion database 1996-2016 and in Ethnic News Watch database 2008-present)