Databases
Key Databases
-
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
-
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Indexes nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines and newsletters, and health pamphlets. 1980-present.
-
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. 1865 to present.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and online books. 1949-present
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
GOOGLE SCHOLAR
Google Scholar
If you search Google Scholar, please consider configuring your Google Scholar account so that you will see the option FindIt@TxState. This options allows you to see if the full text of an article is available through the library.
OR just access Google Scholar from the Databases page:
Is it Peer-Reviewed?
Here are 2 suggestions for determining if an article is peer reviewed.
Library Databases: Some of the library's databases either have a field or indication that an entry is peer reviewed. Remember, "scholarly" is not the same as "peer reviewed."
Ulrichsweb: Search by either the title of the journal (not the article title) or by the journal's ISSN. If you see this icon, 
, then that is an indication the research articles in the journal are peer reviewed. This database uses "refereed" in place of "peer reviewed".
LibKey Nomad
What is LibKey Nomad?
- A browser extension to quickly link to PDF full-text journal articles provided through the University Libraries.
- Works with databases such as PubMed, UpToDate, Google Scholar, Scopus, and more.
- Can be used to link to full text resources from many, many journal/publisher websites.
When using a resource and full text is available you may see an image similar to the one at the top of this section.
How Do I Get the LibKey Nomad Browser Extension On My Computer?
This plug in can be added to a number of popular browsers from here: thirdiron.com/downloadnomad.
As you add the plug in make sure to choose Texas State University as the associated institution.