Costume Design & Fashion Web Sources
- CoPA: Commercial Pattern ArchiveThis is the online finding tool (sometimes also contains pattern image and schematics) for the Pattern Archive at the University of Rhode Island. Does not include the full pattern, (those are available to examine by appointment) but can be used to date patterns or base patterns on image and schematic.
- Costume Society of AmericaThe Costume Society of America advances the global understanding of all aspects of dress and appearance.
- Europeana Fashion PortalEuropeana Fashion - launched with a new look in May 2017 - brings together the digitised collections of more than 30 European public and private institutions.
- Fashion Institute of Technology MuseumThe Museum at FIT, accredited by the American Alliance of Museums, is one of a select group of specialized fashion museums, including the Muse de la Mode, the Mode Museum, and the Museo de la Moda.
- Historical Costume CollectionThe Historic Costume Collection is a database of books illustrating historic costume in the collections of the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries.
- Victoria & Albert Museum Fashion CollectionsKey items in the collection include rare 17th century gowns, 18th century ‘mantua’ dresses, 1930s eveningwear, 1960s daywear and post-war couture.
Costume & Fashion Books in the Collection
Search the library catalog for print and ebook resources related to costuming, movies, and more!
See also these subject headings:
Tailoring Pattern Construction
Costume history books (including design and accessories) can be found in the GT500-2370s call number range, on the 5th floor shelves and Oversize area.
There are also costume and fashion design books in the TT call number area on the 7th floor shelves and Oversize area.
Fashion, Costume, and Culture by ISBN: 0787654183Publication Date: 2003-01-01
Library Databases
- Bloomsbury Fashion CentralFashion, textiles, and art history. Access to an expanding range of Berg content collections – including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works,
- Fashion Snoops This link opens in a new windowForecasting and trend analysis for the fashion industry for men, women, boys, girls, accessories, and home. Provides information from worldwide retail floors, runways, and trade shows.
- WWD (Women's Wear Daily)Contains the entire run of Women's Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
Primary source material on the cultural change between 1950-1975. Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest, fashion, civil rights, Vietnam, student activism, and underground publications.
Check the Image Databases for a complete listing of Alkek Library's holdings.
- Ad*Access This link opens in a new window
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian magazine and newspaper advertisements in five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda. 1911-1955.
- AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Current and historical photographs, audio clips, & news from the Associated Press. Licensed for educational use. 1826 - present
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
The ARTstor platform will be retired on August 1, 2024. All existing and new content has been moved toJSTOR
High-quality image and media from some of the world's top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. - Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 This link opens in a new windowOver 9,000 images that illustrate the rise of consumer culture, especially after the American Civil War, and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
Using Popular Magazines in Print
Do we own print copies of a popular magazine?
1. Search by Magazine name:
Check the Periodical List (online content) or Library Catalog (print content) to see if we have the magazine you want.
2. Locate the Magazine in the Shelves:
Print Journals and magazines published
- after 1960-current are shelved by call number on the 3rd floor.
- before 1960 are shelved by call number on floors 5-7.
- LIFE photo archiveMillions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
- Life Magazine ArchiveThis American variety magazine, published by Time Inc., focuses on politics, fashion, personalities, science, sports and other current issues.