Finding Books (and other items) Alkek
Use the Library Catalog to search for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details. Use quotation marks for "phrase searching"
Use the Start Your Research System or the library catalog to find CDs, DVDs, and more. Most CDs & DVDs will be on the 3rd floor in the media shelves. Also some streaming content like audiofiles and videos will be in the catalog too.
Search by movie title, director, or an actor's name
Number of Items Allowed: All Texas State University borrowers are allowed to check out a maximum of 100 items. Within that limit only 4 audio/visual materials, such as DVDs and CDs, may be borrowed at any one time.
Graduate Students have a 6 month checkout period with 2 renewals. Renewals can be done online using 
or in person at the 3rd floor Checkout Desk of Alkek Library. Call 512.245.3681 to renew by phone.
Selected Reference Resources
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOver 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Search across Dictionary of Literary Biography, Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Gale ebooks, Something About the Author, Scribner Writers, and Twayne's Author series.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowCurrent edition dictionaries, encyclopedias and thesauri on multiple disciplines and subjects.
- American Drama Criticism PS332 .A43 1979 (Reference Shelves, 3rd floor)
- Classical Greek and Roman Drama PA 3024 .F67
- Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism PN523 .M25
- U.S. Theatre, A Bibliography from the Beginning to 1990 PN2221 .S54 1993
- Contemporary Dramatists PR737 .C57 (most recent in Reference Shelves, 3rd floor)
- Dictionary of Literary Biography (online database)
- Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television PN2285 .C58 (In-house Storage, 4th floor)
- Drama Criticism (DC)PN1601 .D59 (In-house Storage, 4th floor)
- American drama criticism: Interpretations, 1890-1977 byCall Number: PS332.A43 1979 Reference Shelves, Floor 3ISBN: 0208017135
- Film Choreographers and Dance Directors byCall Number: GV1779 .B55 1997 Reference, 3rd floorISBN: 0899508685
Profiles of African American Stage Performers and Theatre People, 1816-1960 by Call Number: PN2286 .P46 2001ISBN: 0313295344
These are subject headings that will take you to lists of dictionaries. If you have a theatre dictionary for a country not listed, you can search the library catalog for the country and the word "theater" and "dictionary"