Keyword Series
- Keywords Series, NYU PressThe series offers coverage of African American Studies, American Cultural Studies, Asian American Studies, Children's Literature, Comics Studies, Disability Studies, Environmental Studies, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Latina/o Studies, Media Studies.
Related Books
Between the World and Me / Ta-Nehisi Coates.Ta-Nehisi Coates offers a framework for understanding our nation's history and current crisis. Americans have built an empire on the idea of "race," a falsehood that damages us all but falls most heavily on the bodies of black women and men -- bodies exploited through slavery and segregation, and, today, threatened, locked up, and murdered out of all proportion.
Library Catalog
- Library CatalogThe Library Catalog is like a store catalog - it's a list of items available at the University Libraries. Use the Library Catalog to search for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details. The library catalog is a type of database, so you can use the same search strategies you would use in a database, including "phrase searching," Boolean operators, and truncation.
- Challenged BooksUniversity Libraries recognizes books that have been challenged. Take a look at Challenged Books available at the Library.
Oxford Bibliographies: African Studies -- American Literature -- Anthropology -- Art History -- Atlantic History -- Childhood Studies -- Cinema and Media Studies -- Communication -- Criminology -- Ecology -- Education -- Environmental Science -- Geography -- International Law -- International Relations -- Latin American Studies -- Latino Studies -- Linguistics -- Management -- Music -- Philosophy -- Political Science -- Psychology -- Public Health -- Social Work -- Sociology.
Oxford Handbooks: Review essays by leading scholars who evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic, and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate. A limited number of essays are available for Archaeology Music, and Religion but most coverage is in Criminology, Philosophy and Psychology.
Oxford Research Encyclopedias: Multi-disciplinary.
Handbook of Black Studies / Asante, Karenga.
An Introduction to Black Studies / Jackson.
The History of Black Studies / Alkalimat.
African American studies / Davidson.
African Americans -- Study and Teaching / American Americans -- Research.
African Americans -- Homosexuality.
African Americans in Literature. / African American Literature -- History & Criticism.
African Americans -- beauty or hair
African Americans -- storytelling or oral tradition
African Americans -- self definition, self perception, self affirmation
African Americans -- belonging, space
Thick: And Other Essays / Tressie McMillan CottomThis "transgressive, provocative, and brilliant" (Roxane Gay) collection cements McMillan Cottom's position as a public thinker capable of shedding new light on what the "personal essay" can do. She turns her chosen form into a showcase for her critical dexterity, investigating everything from Saturday Night Live, LinkedIn, and BBQ Becky to sexual violence, infant mortality, and Trump rallies.
Stamped / Jason Reynolds.A chapter book adaptation of Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You: A Remix of the National Book Award-winning "Stamped from the Beginning. Kids will discover where racist ideas came from, identify how they impact America today, and meet those who have fought racism with antiracism. Along the way, they'll learn how to identify and stamp out racist thoughts in their own lives.
Related Books
How to Be an Antiracist / Ibram X. KendiIn How to Be an Antiracist, Kendi takes readers through a widening circle of antiracist ideas--from the most basic concepts to visionary possibilities--that will help readers see all forms of racism clearly, understand their poisonous consequences, and work to oppose them in our systems and in ourselves. Kendi weaves an electrifying combination of ethics, history, law, and science with his own personal story of awakening to antiracism. This is an essential work for anyone who wants to go beyond the awareness of racism to the next step: contributing to the formation of a just and equitable society.
The Angela Project Presents 40 Days of Prayer / Cheri Mills.Throughout the 400 years since the first "20 and odd Negroes" were brought to the British colonies, American Descendants of Slavery have experienced a Black Holocaust: enslavement, black codes, sharecropping, Jim Crow, lynchings, convict leasing, redlining, restrictive covenants, police brutality, subprime lending, mass incarceration, all of which have resulted in the ghettoization/impoverishment of black communities across America. Contained within each daily prayer and reflection page is an excerpt from the documentary, The Underground Rail Road: A Record, by William Still. Each excerpt is a direct quote from Mr. Still; therefore, any wording that does not align with standard or contemporary English is reflective of that time.
