Audiobooks
- Libby Audiobooks (Overdrive)Current bestselling and classic audiobooks. Download the app through Google Play or the Apple App Store. Signing into the Libby app
Images & Videos
- Image DatabasesUniversity Libraries offers a number of databases you can use to search for images for your project. Don't forget to cite your sources.
- Streaming MediaIf you're looking for streaming video or audio for your project, take a look at our collection of streaming media databases. These sources need to be cited properly if used in your project.
Search Tips
To focus your search with multiple keywords for your topic, use AND: "african americans" AND childhood
Remember to search possible variations and synonyms that apply to your topics: "african american" OR "african americans" OR "black americans" OR "black american" OR blacks
Using "Quotation Marks" searches words as a phrase.
Most databases will allow you to limit search results to Scholarly which could include Peer-Reviewed or by Material Type: Academic Journals.
Truncation searches variations of a word. The symbol used is asterisk *.
Check Subject terms to see if there are any synonym terms to consider.
Databases
Try Start Your Research first! Search results can be limited to citations from Peer Reviewed journals.
Remember to search all variations with your topics: "african american" or "african americans" or "black americans" or "black american" or blacks
- MLA International BibliographyComprehensive database indexing articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics. Over 1000 of the indexed journals have full text. 1916-present.
- African American ExperienceContributions to arts, entertainment, sciences, business, military, and politics from prominent individuals as well as nameless others who endured the travails of slavery and institutionalized discrimination. Late 1700s to present.
- Communication SourceLarge database indexing publications worldwide pertaining to communication, advertising, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, and media studies. 1915 to present.
- Film & Television Literature IndexIncludes reviews, critical analysis, film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, and technical aspect. 1914 to present.
- LGBT Thought and CultureDocuments of the LGBT political, social, and cultural movements throughout the 20th century to present.
- LGBT Magazine ArchiveHistory and culture of the LGBT community through 26 of the most influential, longest-running serial publications including The Advocate and Gay Times. 1954-2015.
- PsycINFOPeer reviewed journal articles and books in psychology, counseling and related fields, such as sociology, linguistics, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology. Includes international material selected from more than 2,500 periodicals in more than 27 languages. 1887-present.
- Social Sciences Full TextCovers anthropology, community health and medicine, economics, environmental sciences, geography, international relations, law and criminology, police science, planning and public administration, psychology, psychiatry, political science, sociology, and social work. 1983-present
- Sociological AbstractsSociology, anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, political science, demography, and social psycholog. 1952-present. *
- Sociology Source UltimateSociology, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, and welfare. 1895-present