Additional Ways to find articles
Change your search terms
- Figure out the terms that the database uses for your concepts by seeing the subject headings or MeSH terms found in the article records of relevant results.
- If a database has a thesaurus (Subject Headings, MeSH terms), you can browse it for subject headings, see the scope note or definition of a subject heading, and see related terms that you might use.
Citation Chasing
Citation Chasing involves finding articles that have cited an article of interest. There are a few databases that will provide citation analysis of articles:
Citation Chasing using Google Scholar
1. Access Google Scholar on the Databases page.
2. Search for the title of the original article (or do a keyword search).
3. On the results page, click the "Cited by" link underneath the description of the article(s).
4. It's possible that one or some of the articles on the "Cited by" results list may be useful to your research.
Citation Chasing using Web of Science
1. Access the database Web of Science on the Databases page.
2. Do a title search for the article title (you can also do a topic search if you don't have a specific article identified).
3. On the results page, click the Citations link to retrieve a list of articles that have cited the original article.
4. The number of articles that have cited the article will be displayed.
Systematic Reviews
Search for a systematic review on a treatment/intervention/comparison to find research studies.
- Systematic Reviews are articles that review multiple research studies on a specific treatment.
- Databases that allow you to limit your search results to systematic reviews include:
-
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
-
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. 1865 to present.
-
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of evidence-based medicine databases including systematic reviews, controlled trials, methodologies, evaluations and technology assessments.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and online books. 1949-present
-
JBI database of systematic reviews and implementation reports This link opens in a new window
Systematic review protocols and systematic reviews of healthcare research following the JBI methodology. 2003-present.
Bibliographies
When you identify an article that is useful, check the bibliography of the article to find additional resources. You can search for the title of the article in Start Your Research by placing quotations around the title. You can also search for the journal in the Journals/Periodicals list then search the specific volume/issue for the article.