Library Links for Finding Artists' Books & Zines
- Artists' Books CollectionSee all the artists' books and zines in the different locations in Alkek and the Archives & Research Center
- ZinesSee all the Zines at Alkek in the different locations. More will be added soon!
- Book Design booksA list of books about book design and making books.
Welcome!
Collage for the Soul by Call Number: TT910 .H357 2003 , 6th FLoorISBN: 1564969622Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Making Mini Books by Call Number: Z271 .M453 2011, Alkek General, Floor 6ISBN: 9781454702009Publication Date: 2012-04-03
Package Form and Design by Call Number: Z261 .P33 2007, Alkek General, Floor 6ISBN: 9784894445918Publication Date: 2011-09-06
Pockets, Pullouts, and Hiding Places by Call Number: TT870 .M37328 2005 , 6th FloorISBN: 9781592531509Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Paper Folding Templates for Print Design by Call Number: Z261 .W58 2011, Alkek General, Floor 6ISBN: 9781440314124Publication Date: 2012
Humpback Whale Migration by Call Number: QL737.C424 C37 2012, Alkek Juvenile Collection, Floor 3ISBN: 9781609736224Publication Date: 2012
Atlas of American Migration by Call Number: G1201.E27 F5 1998, Alkek Oversize, Floor 5ISBN: 0816031584Publication Date: 1998
A Conspiracy of Images by Call Number: N6490 .C87 2013, Alkek General, Floor 6ISBN: 9780300188431Publication Date: 2013
The Art of the Fold by Call Number: TT870 .K95 2018, Alkek General, Floor 6ISBN: 9781786272935Publication Date: 2018
Paper Engineering by Call Number: Z261 .A93 2003, Alkek General, Floor 6ISBN: 9782880467111Publication Date: 2003
RSS Feed of New Art & Design Titles!
Loading ...
Useful Subject Headings for Finding Relevant Materials
Books on Paper Folding and Paper Engineering
Books on Color Theory
Color theory (a list of books with the subject heading Color in Art)
Mechanical Drawing
Architectural drawing
Structural drawing
Technical illustration
Handouts for Finding Books
- Library catalog guide
- How to use the library catalog and locate books in the library by call number.
- Library Directory
- Floor information and call number map to find books
Below is a browsing map with different areas of inerest highlighted in yellow to use when you are looking for any image related subject, topic, or medium. Click on the image to download a printable PDF version of it and to see it better. :)
Finding Books, eBooks, and other library materials
Use the Library Catalog to search the main collection for print resources and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details.
Below
is a list of Call Number areas for Fine Arts and Design Resources for
general browsing purposes when searching for images. For specific
information see the section on how to use the Library Web Catalog for
searching for art related information.
| Subject | Call Number |
| Advertising | HF 5801-6182 |
| Aesthetics | BH |
| Architecture | NA |
| Art Encyclopedias | N1-9165 |
| Art General | NX |
| Decorative Arts | NK |
| Drawing & Illustration | NC |
| Graphic Arts & Computer Graphics | TR, NC, Z200 |
| Jewelry Making | TS, TT |
| Music | M |
| Painters & Painting | ND |
| Photography | TR |
| Printmaking | NE |
| Sculpture & Sculptors | NB |
Open Licenses Librarian
Useful Reference Books
A Short Guide To Writing About Art by Call Number: N7476 .B37 2015 Alkek Ask Alkek Desk - 2nd FloorISBN: 0205708250This best-selling text has guided tens of thousands of art students through the writing process. Students are shown how to analyze pictures (drawings, paintings, photographs), sculptures and architecture, and are prepared with the tools they need to present their ideas through effective writing.
Subject Specific Bibliographies of Resources at Alkek Library
- Fibers Books, Ebooks, and Videos at Alkek LibraryA list of fibers resources at Alkek Library with links to library catalog records.
- Fibers Resources at Alkek LibraryA bibliography of fibers books, current periodicals, and databases for finding articles at Alkek Library. No links to catalog records. Formatted in traditional bibliography style. Published fall 2010 by Tara Spies Smith.
- Printmaking Books and Videos at Alkek LibraryAn Excel sheet with titles, descriptions, and links to catalog records for printmaking books and videos at Alkek Library.