LibGuides: FM 1330: Introduction to Fashion Merchandising: Websites with Culture and Fashion Resources

Digital Fashion & Costume Collections

Cashin (Bonnie) Collection of Fashion, Theater and Film Costume Design, 1913-2000
The collection contains Bonnie Cashin's personal archive documenting her design career. The collection includes Cashin's design illustrations, writings on design, contractual paperwork, photographs of her clothing designs, and press materials including press releases and editorial coverage of her work.
Drexel Digital Museum Project
The Drexel Digital Museum Project: Historic Costume Collection (digimuse) is a searchable image database comprised of selected fashion from the Robert and Penny Fox Historic Costume Collection (FHCC), designs loaned to the project by private collectors for inclusion on the website, fashion exhibitions curated by Drexel faculty and fashion research by faculty and students.
Europeana Collections
Explore fashion - historical clothing and accessories, contemporary designs, catwalk photographs, drawings, sketches, plates, catalogues and videos - from museums and archives across Europe.
Fashion Institute of Technology Museum
The museums permanent collection encompasses some 50,000 garments and accessories from the 18th century to the present.
Houston Community College Fashion Archive
This is a free resource for fashion design and research featuring historical garments and accessories from the 1740s to the 2000s with a Texas emphasis. The Houston Community College Fashion Archive is a fragment of the total collection maintained by the Houston Community College Fashion Department and is digitally created and maintained by Houston Community College Libraries.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art - Costume Institute
Texts and images from the collections of the Costume Institute and the Irene Lewisohn Costume Reference Library at The Metropolitan Museum of Art. Please note that access to some material in this collection is restricted to computers within The Metropolitan Museum of Art.
We Wear Culture
Explore collections from around the world with Google Arts & Culture, created by Google Cultural Institute.
Valentino Garavani Museum
Valentino Garavani, legendary fashion designer, has defined a unique world of couture for almost half a century. Now his achievement takes radical new form, in keeping with the creative traditions of the house: THE VALENTINO GARAVANI VIRTUAL MUSEUM.

Fashion Drawings Digital Collections

André Studios 1930-1941: Fashion Drawings & Sketches
Fashion Drawings & Sketches in the Collections of FIT and the New York Public Library.
Brooklyn Museum - Fashion & Costume Sketch Collection 1912-1950
Fashion Plates - Digital Collections of the Los Angeles Public Library
Over 6,200 hand-colored, finely detailed fashion illustrations produced between 1780 and 1880 for British and American fashion magazines. The plates depict fashionable styles of dress for men, women and children, and constitute valuable source material on the history of dress during this period in history.

Textile Collections

Art Institute Chicago
The Department of Textile's collection consists of more than 13,500 objects ranging in date from 300 BC to the present.
DMC Step by Step Embroidery Stitch Guide
The Embroidery Stitch Identification Guide presents a standardized nomenclature and classification system for embroidery stitches based on seven structural and three usage categories. The goal is to provide consistent nomenclature for designers, ethnographers, textile historians, curators, and others who wish to identify embroidery stitches or create embroidered textiles.
vads - Goldsmiths Textile Collection
The Collection is used by a wide variety of researchers from different disciplines, including visual arts, anthropology, history and design. Students, academic staff and researchers, both from within Goldsmiths and outside, together with members of the public use the Collection.

Websites with Fashion and Culture Resources

Global Fashion Resources/Sites

Fashion History Timeline

The Fashion History Timeline is an open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe. The Timeline website offers well-researched, accessibly written entries on specific artworks, garments and films for those interested in fashion and dress history.

Ukraine