Open Licenses Librarian, Arts & Humanities Team Librarian
Streaming Media
The library has access to large amounts of streaming media, including videos on art history, aesthetics, architecture, and many other art related topics. We also have streaming audio databases too.
Streaming Video Databases - Contain Fashion, Society, and Culture videos that you can make clips from for embedding into presentations
- Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive multidisciplinary academic streaming video collection. Includes newsreels, award-winning documentaries, field recordings, interviews, lectures, training videos, and exclusive primary footage.
- Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Educational, close-captioned videos on all subject areas. Includes archival film and newsreels, documentaries and films from producers such as A&E, BBC learning, and PBS.An external tool is available in Canvas to embed Films on Demand videos.
- Bloomsbury Video Library: Art & Humanities This link opens in a new window
Exclusive indie films and shorts, avant-garde performances, and documentaries. International in scope. 1905-2021.
- Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowA selection of feature films from well-known studios such as MGM, Miramax, United Artists, Columbia Pictures, and Dreamworks. These films are NOT LICENSED for public events. They may be streamed only in a face-to-face classroom setting or for individual use.
- Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
Streaming videos from BBC, PBS, Documentary Educational Resources, Criterion Collection and others. The platform allows you to make playlists and clips, and share links.
- PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new windowStreaming videos of documentaries and series from PBS. 1981 to present
Textile Databases
- World Textiles This link opens in a new windowCovers topics related to textile products and manufacturing. Indexes journal and trade publications, American, British and European patents, and international standards information. 1980 to present.
Fashion Databases
These databases are good for finding images and information about global fashion.
See the full list of Family and Consumer Sciences databases for more fashion related databases.
- Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new windowCoverage of world fashion from 1500 BCE to present. Contains reference works, ebooks, and images. Also contains an awesome fashion history timeline.
- Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new windowDesign and craft journals plus data on international designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, and firms. 1973-present.
- Fashion Snoops This link opens in a new windowForecasting and trend analysis for the fashion industry for men, women, boys, girls, accessories, and home. Provides information from worldwide retail floors, runways, and trade shows.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
Primary source material on the cultural change between 1950-1975. Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest, fashion, civil rights, Vietnam, student activism, and underground publications.
- VOGUE Archive This link opens in a new windowPopular fashion magazine. This is a complete archive of first issue in 1892 to present.
- WWD Archive This link opens in a new window
Popular fashion magazine. This is a complete archive of first issue in 1910 to present.
Country Culture Studies, Demographics, & Statistics Databases
See all statistics databases here
See all Country Studies databases here
See all culture related databases here
- Columbia Gazetteer of the World OnlineA searchable database of over 165,000 geographical places and features of all kinds. Lists names, descriptions, and characteristics including information on population, agriculture, industry, services, climate, and relief.
- CultureGramsCountry information. Includes World Edition, Kids Edition, States Edition (U.S.) and Provinces Edition (Canada). Covers Land and Climate, History, Population, Language, Religion, Customs and Courtesies, Lifestyle, Government, Economy, Education, Health, Transportation and Communications. Current Country Information, Maps, Images, Native Recipes, Biographies, Downloadable Statistics.
- SimplyAnalytics Extensive demographic, business and marketing data from sources such as census data from 2000 and 2010,Current Estimates, Five Year Projections, the Experian SimmonsLOCAL® and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM® Data Packages.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowOver 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books. Makes a mind map of connecting topics and has images too!
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
International bibliography of publications in European languages on all aspects of Islam and the Muslim world, covering history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages, and literatures. 1906-present.
- Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowFull-text, full-image digital archive of the Life Magazine. 1936-2000. A valuable resource for 20th-century events, politics and culture, as well as the history of business, advertising, and popular culture.
- Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
American and world popular culture, past and present. Decade overviews from 1920s to 2000s.
- Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
Graphically rich primary sources depicting popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
The Start Your Research System
Try searching our new Start Your Research tool! It searches multiple databases for articles and the library catalog for books and other materials. This tool can be good if your topic is cross-disciplinary and you are looking for different types of materials like images!
After you do an intial search in the box pictured below (click the picture), look to the right to see related images. Under the Refine Your Results drop down on the left, click Show More to select Image Quick View Type, at the bottom of the refine search pop-up page. Please ask for help with this new tool if you need it!
| ILL - Scan Request - TexShare |
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own. Use ILLIAD, the online interlibrary loan request system, to order your ILL items. Typical turnaround for a book is 1-2 weeks and must be picked up at and returned to the library. Articles are sent to requestors via email.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.408.3996; Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the main floor of Alkek Library. - Scanning RequestThe University Libraries will scan and deliver chapters and articles from its print resources. Current Texas State students, faculty, and staff are eligible to use this service. We will scan chapters and articles only (max. 50 pages). We cannot scan entire books or journal issues. Limit: 1 request per person per day. Please allow three (3) working days for processing. Library staff will deliver an electronic file via ILLiad or via email.
- TexShareA TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at Participating Libraries.