Suggested Databases for Historical Research
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowUnited States and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications. Indexing from 1895, full text from 1935.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
- PAIS Index & Archive This link opens in a new window
Indexes documents which provide historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies around the world. 1914 to present.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA digital collection (full text) of books from numerous academic and research libraries around the world.
- Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
Primary source material on the cultural change between 1950-1975. Rock and roll, counterculture, peace and protest, fashion, civil rights, Vietnam, student activism, and underground publications.
- Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960-1974 This link opens in a new window
Covers themes such as civil rights, counter culture, left movements, right movements, sexual revolution, student activism, and the Vietnam War. 1960 to 1974.
- African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Contributions to arts, entertainment, sciences, business, military, and politics from prominent individuals as well as nameless others who endured the travails of slavery and institutionalized discrimination. Late 1700s to present.
- ProQuest African American Heritage This link opens in a new windowFederal census, marriage and cohabitation, military draft and service records for African Americans, registers of slaves and free(d) persons of color, Freedman's Bank, plus AfriGeneas and Black Genesis state-by-state guide. 1600s-1930.
- African American Communities This link opens in a new window
Primary resource material revealing the challenges of everyday African Americans in Atlanta, Chicago, New York and North Carolina in the early 1800s to early 2000s.
- American Civil Liberties Union Papers, parts I and II This link opens in a new window
Focuses on the struggle for civil rights and U.S. Supreme Court issues related to civil liberties, race and gender. 1912-1990.
