Diverse BookFinder
- Diverse BookFinderThe Diverse BookFinder is a comprehensive collection of children's picture books featuring Black and Indigenous people and People of Color (BIPOC). We've cataloged and analyzed trade picture books fitting this criteria, published since 2002.
Images & Videos
The Libraries subscribe to a number of streaming video collections that you can search.
You can also refer to a number of open resources similar to YouTube.
Nappy.co (provided CC0 - no attribution necessary - this one's my favorite in terms of style also)
Flickr (free with attribution)
JobWellCollection (says it's free as long as you keep the watermark attribution)
Broadly Gender (all CC BY-NC-ND 4.0)
Burst (all free - mixed licenses)
Representation Matters (mix of free and for-profit photos)
https://createherstock.com/ (also mix)
MuslimGirl.com Collection from Getty (mix)
Also remember to keep in mind:
Databases
ERIC via TXST University Libraries
Education Source via TXST University Libraries
If you need research about a book, MLA International
Book Review library databases
TeachingBooks.net | An easy-to-use online resource that provides multimedia content to complement children's and young adult books. Resources include audio book readings, book discussion guides, lesson plans, and more, for thousands of children’s and young adult books in English and Spanish.
See Also: K-12 Databases --- Newspapers/News --- Primary Sources
Notable Read-Alouds
Comstock Read Aloud Book Award | @TXST-ULis awarded to the best picture book of the year to read aloud to older children. Picture books for children from the age range of nine to twelve are considered. All picture books eligible for the award are field-tested with children.
E.B. White Read-Aloud Award | @TXST-UL honors books that reflect the universal read aloud standards that were created by the work of the author E.B. White in his classic books for children:Charlotte’s Web, Stuart Little, and The Trumpet of the Swan and replace the Indies Choice Book Awards in the categories of Middle Reader and New Picture Book.
Gryphon Award | @TXST-UL recognizes an English language work of fiction or non-fiction for which the primary audience (K-4). The title chosen best exemplifies those qualities that successfully bridge the gap in difficulty between books for reading aloud to children and books for practiced readers.The award was conceived as a way to focus attention on an area of literature for youth that, despite being crucial to the successful transition of new readers to independent lifelong readers, does not get the critical recognition it deserves.
Wanda Gág Read Aloud Book Award | @TXST-UL honors the best picture book of the year to read aloud to younger children. Picture books for children between the ages toddlers to age eight are considered.
Music & Songs
The Libraries subscribe to a number of streaming audio and speeches collections that you can search.
You can also refer to a number of open resources similar to YouTube.
Also remember to keep in mind: