College of Fine Arts and Communication Liaison Librarian, Open Licenses Librarian
Using Start Your Research
What is Start Your Research?
Start Your Research is a way to search most of the library's databases all at once, using a single search box.
Reasons to use Start Your Research
A search will bring up encyclopedia entries, journal & newspaper articles, ebooks, library books, images, streaming video & audio content, and more.
You can use search filters to narrow down your results to a specific timeframe, type of source (like all books), full-text availability, and other ways.
Where is it located?
Start Your Research is located at the top of the library homepage, under the featured items section.
Start Your Research can be helpful for finding up-to-date articles from newspapers about current and past Theatre and Dance productions, Choreographers, Actors, Directors, and more.
Remember, Start Your Research is not the only library database available to you
The new search platform does not search all of the databases we subscribe to and the original databases often have more search features, such as the ability to limit to methodology.
For more in-depth or complex research, please be sure to go to the databases listed in the Theater & Performing Arts database list, the Newspaper databases, and possibly the Art & Design databases.
Selected Reference Resources
-
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowContains a Mind Map tool. A visual presentation of the connections to a topic. Very valuable for brainstorming, getting background info, and broadening or narrowing a topic.
-
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
Search across Dictionary of Literary Biography, Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Gale ebooks, Something About the Author, Scribner Writers, and Twayne's Author series.
-
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Current edition dictionaries, encyclopedias and thesauri on multiple disciplines and subjects. Simultaneous user limit is 5.
-
Interpretations, 1890-1977
by
Call Number: PS332.A43 1979 Reference Shelves, Floor 3ISBN: 0208017135Publication Date: 1979-10-01 -
African Americans in the Performing Arts
by
Call Number: PN2286 .O88 2003ISBN: 9780816048076Publication Date: 2003-01-01 -
Film Choreographers and Dance Directors
by
Call Number: GV1779 .B55 1997ISBN: 9780899508689Publication Date: 1997-08-01 -
-
-
Notable Women in the American Theatre
by
Call Number: PN2285 .N65 1989ISBN: 9780313272172Publication Date: 1989-12-06 -
Profiles of African American Stage Performers and Theatre People, 1816-1960
by
Call Number: PN2286 .P46 2001ISBN: 0313295344 -
-
-
-
These are subject headings that will take you to lists of dictionaries. If you have a theatre dictionary for a country not listed, you can search the library catalog for the country and the word "theater" and "dictionary"