College of Fine Arts and Communication Liaison Librarian, Open Licenses Librarian
| Interlibrary Loan - TexShare |
-
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own. Use ILLIAD, the online interlibrary loan request system, to order your ILL items. Typical turnaround for a book is 1-2 weeks and must be picked up at and returned to the library. Articles are sent to requestors via email.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.408.3996 or email. Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the 2nd floor of the Library. -
TexShareA TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at participating libraries.
Finding Playscripts FAQs
-
PlayscriptsThis is the magic link to see all playscripts cataloged by University Libraries and the locations of where to find them. It is the subject heading link for Playscripts in the library catalog. You can see it on the page of any of these plays as a button that says "playscripts":
Where are the print plays, playscripts, and screenplays located in the library building? Currently most plays, playscripts, and screenplays are shelved in the library's general collection on the 6th floor and are available for check-out. Occasionally rare or special copies will be in the 7th floor Wittliff Collections Reading Room.
How do I figure out where they are on the shelves?
Be sure to check the Library Catalog for exact call numbers and locations for printed plays, playscripts, and screenplays. Books are currently shifting and some moving to the ARC.
Do you have online copies?
Alkek Library has online copies of plays and playscripts in several databases. See the list on this page for links to these databases.
I can't find a play when I search by the title! Does that mean we don't have it?Sometimes plays are published in a magazine or in a book collection. Use an index (either print or online) to locate these plays. If you still can't find it, you can use Interlibrary Loan or your TexShare card to get a copy from a different library.
Search for Playscripts & Librettos in the Library
For opera/musical librettos: enter the title of the opera/musical in the online Library Catalog. Librettos in our collection reside at the Alkek Library location. You might also try entering the keyword "libretto."
Play Indexes & Databases
Some plays are published in collections or magazines, and not in single volumes. These indexes indicate the collection or magazine where the text of a certain play is published. Click on the links below to access databases or check for location information.
Print Indexes:
- Drury's Guide to Best Plays
- Ottemiller's Index to Plays in Collections
- The drama scholars' index to plays and filmscripts: a guide to plays and filmscripts in selected anthologies, series, and periodicals.
Online Databases & eBooks:
-
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Classical works to contemporary plays combined with critical analysis, contextual information, biographies, genres and Nick Hern books.
-
Inter-Play This link opens in a new windowLocates plays in collections, anthologies, & periodicals. Use the catalog to see if the library owns the book or periodical. Renaissance times to the present.
-
Literature Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowEnglish & American poetry, prose and drama from the 8th century to the present day plus journals, criticism & reference resources on authors and their works.
-
Twentieth Century Drama This link opens in a new window
Plays from the English-speaking world, including under-represented theater traditions such as radical theater, women's theater, regional, national & ethnic theatrical traditions. 1890s to present.
Theatre Reference Resources - Literature Criticism Online Database
-
Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
All articles within Gale's Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Shakespearean Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review. 1973-present.
Need to find more specific literature & drama reference material fast?
Gale Literature Criticism database provides online access to the full text of:
- Gale's Contemporary Literary Criticism
- Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
- Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
- Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800
- Shakespearean Criticism
- Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism
- Poetry Criticism
- Short Story Criticism
- Drama Criticism
- Children's Literature Review.
as well as author biographical information and work overviews.