Related Guides
Perplexity AI Pro Licenses are now available to campus. [TXST Video] Click "Sign in with SSO" on the bottom right. See other AI tools
AI and Literature Reviews
Workshop presented by Jess Wiliams and Wendy Thompson, 3.18.2025
-
EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new windowYou need to be logged into MyEbsco on the top right corner in order to see the Research Assistant feature in your search results. Video
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more. JSTOR offers integrated AI in search results.
Learn more here. -
ProQuest One Academic This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary and multiformat content from four ProQuest resources (ProQuest Central, Academic Complete, Academic Video Online, and ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global.), combined into one. Research queries are automatically supplemented with AI suggestions for more targeted searches, and articles include summaries of key topics in documents. Link to FAQs.
-
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
-
AI-Powered Scholar: A Beginner's Guide to Artificial Intelligence for Academic Writing & Research / Bron Eager.
ISBN: 9781032665276This book is a practical and comprehensive guide on using AI tools to streamline and optimise the academic writing and research process. Through a series of step-by-step instructions and practical tips, this book provides readers with the knowledge and tools they need to leverage the power of AI to produce high-quality academic publications. The text covers the historical context of AI development, techniques for communicating with AI systems, and strategies for transforming AI into helpful research assistants. Readers will discover the art of prompt engineering and learn practical applications for using AI to ideate research projects, conduct literature searches, and accelerate academic writing. Emphasis is placed on the responsible use of AI, positioning it as an extension of human capabilities rather than a replacement. Through real-world examples, complex AI concepts are demystified, and key challenges and limitations are addressed head-on.
Useful Tools
These tools will help you find, save, and organize your articles - and help you stay current in your field.
LibKey Nomad | This is a browser extension - if you find an article on the web, it will bring you to the full-text through TXST Libraries. This tool can also help with alerting you to journals considered "Problematic" (potentially predatory).
Browzine | This is a desktop and mobile app that lets you build a bookshelf of your favorite journals - and sends email alerts when new articles are published.
Google Scholar | Set up the Library Links setting to link a google scholar search results to our full text access.
Citation Management
Consider using a citation management software to help keep track of your citations for your bibliography and offers a Web and Desktop version. EndNote is a citation management tool that enables you to:
► Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
► Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
► Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.
See Also: EndNote Tutorials | Desktop Styles Download
Zotero is a free, open-access tool developed by an independent, nonprofit organization that has no financial interest in your private information. The free version provides 300 MB of storage space and additional storage is available for a fee. Zotero lets you:
► Attach images, notes, and PDFs to your citations
► Organize and tag your citations into collections and folders
► Create bibliographies automatically as well as in-text citations
► Share references and research information with a group
See Also: Quick-Start Guide | Get Help with Zotero | Zotero FAQs | User Forums | ZoteroBib
Zotero: A Guide for Librarians, Researchers, and Educators / Jason Puckett.