Background Information
BACKGROUND INFORMATION
- For a list of databases that provide access to dictionaries and encyclopedias, on the Databases page under Types select Dictionaries and Encyclopedias.
- Suggested Databases for General Information:
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 600 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries (English and foreign language), thesauri, books of quotations, as well as a range of subject-specific reference books.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
All Gale reference books in the arts, biography, small business, education, literature, science and environment, history, law and criminal justice, multicultural studies, religion, and travel.
- Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Current edition dictionaries, encyclopedias and thesauri on multiple disciplines and subjects. Simultaneous user limit is 5.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, handbooks, ebooks, and videos published by Sage and CQ Press. 1983 to present
Journal Articles (General)
JOURNAL ARTICLES (General)
- The following databases provide articles from journals on multiple subjects:
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large full-text multidisciplinary collection of scholarly journals, trade/professional publications, and newspapers. 1887-present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, and technical reports.
Journal Articles (Subject-specific)
JOURNAL ARTICLES (Subject-specific)
- To locate a list of databases for a specific subject on the Databases page select the subject menu then select the subject like Education.