| Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (refers to Desktop EndNote)
-
Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.
This is a browser extension - if you find an article on the web, it will bring you to the full-text through TXST Libraries.
Select Databases
-
Start Your Research This link opens in a new windowSearch multiple databases and different types of content together.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowProvides cross-search of multiple databases and covers multiple disciplines. *Search Results also provide citation counts for each entry.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new windowCitation database of high-quality peer-reviewed literature in scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings with added functionality to identify research trends, and view metrics at the journal, document and author level. *Search Results also provide citations counts.
-
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health, medicine, social sciences, and humanities. Not all content is full-text.
-
EBSCO Databases This link opens in a new windowProvider of several databases. Mark the box next to database names to search multiple databases simultaneously. Dates vary.
-
ProQuest (all databases search) This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary resource for journal articles, ebooks, videos, primary sources, abstracts, dissertations & theses, newspapers and more.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal. To try out AI tools in JSTOR, login using your personal JSTOR account and visit the FAQs to learn more.
-
Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. Provides a way to search by University, in case a list of dissertations from a specific institution is needed.
Citation Management
Consider using a citation management software to help keep track of your citations for your bibliography and offers a Web and Desktop version. EndNote is a citation management tool that enables you to:
► Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
► Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
► Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.
See Also: EndNote Tutorials | Desktop Styles Download
Zotero is a free, open-access tool developed by an independent, nonprofit organization that has no financial interest in your private information. The free version provides 300 MB of storage space and additional storage is available for a fee. Zotero lets you:
► Attach images, notes, and PDFs to your citations
► Organize and tag your citations into collections and folders
► Create bibliographies automatically as well as in-text citations
► Share references and research information with a group
See Also: Quick-Start Guide | Get Help with Zotero | Zotero FAQs | User Forums | ZoteroBib
Zotero: A Guide for Librarians, Researchers, and Educators / Jason Puckett.