Skip to Main Content

LibGuides Best Practices: A-Z List & Assets

This is a guide and style manual for Alkek Library Staff to use when creating and editing LibGuides.

A-Z List

Definition

 

The A-Z List lists and describes the databases that the library subscribes to. Information from the A-Z List is included in a guide when you choose the Add>Database option in a box.

The intentions of the A-Z List are to:

  1. Provide a central list of all databases
  2. Allow for any updates to be made only one time

How to Use

Using A-Z List in a LibGuide

  • To add a link to an A-Z List database record, use the Add/Reorder button and select Database.
  • Search for the database name.
    • We will be cleaning up the records to remove any duplicates, but for now, if your search yields more than one option, you can select either one.
  • Enter any text you want into the Custom Description field. This will display instead of the Description field from the A-Z List (which is taken from the Research Databases page).

Updating the A-Z List

  • Stephanie Larrison provides updated information about library databases periodically.
  • Do not add any databases or other resources to the A-Z List.
    • New databases the library subscribes to will be included in the next A-Z List update.
    • Links to resources other than library databases should not be included in the A-Z List but should be added by selecting Link and creating/reusing an Asset.
  • Subject librarians are responsible for maintaining Best Bets and Subject associations for their own subject areas.

Best Bets/Additional Subjects

  • Assigning Best Bets and Additional Subjects to a database makes it appear on the Databases tab of a subject's home page (e.g. Engineering).
  • A database may be assigned as a Best Bet for multiple subjects.
  • Best Bets and Additional Subjects are mutually exclusive, so you must choose one or the other for each subject.

 

Assigning/editing Best Bets and Subject Associations

  • Log in to LibGuides and go to the A-Z List: https://txstate.libapps.com/libguides/az.php
  • Select each of your subjects from the Subjects dropdown list
  • Review the list of associated databases
  • Select at least one database per subject as a Best Bet
  • Identify any associated databases that are not related to the subject area
  • Use the edit button (icon looks like paper and pen) to go into a database record
  • To add a Best Best, check off the Subject in the Best Bets dropdown
  • To remove a subject association, uncheck the Subject in the Additional Subjects dropdown
  • Be sure to Save before you leave the record

Assets

Definition

 

The Assets list includes items that are entered into LibGuides Boxes using the Add/Reorder button: Links, RSS feeds, Documents, Books, Polls, Widgets, Remote Scripts, LibAnswers Widgets, and LibWizard Items. Any of these things that are included in a Rich Text field do not appear in the Assets list.

The intention of the Assets list is to provide a single reusable instance of each item. Any changes made in the Assets list (e.g. a change to the URL of a Link) will also be made wherever that item has been used in a guide.

How to Use

 

Following normal usage patterns, there is not a good way to keep the Assets list completely organized. However, following these best practices will allow us to utilize the intended functions of Assets as much as possible.

Adding an Asset

  • Using the Add/Replace button on a LibGuide box, select the Asset type you want (e.g. Link).
  • Go to the Reuse Existing... tab and search for the item.
    • If the asset already exists in the LibGuides system:
      • Reuse the asset but do not make a copy. This creates a duplicate asset.
      • If you have to choose between duplicate existing assets, do not choose one that lists the location as Assets List--this means it is not being used on any other guides and should be deleted. 
      • You may make custom edits to two fields of a reused asset: Title and Description. You can also choose display options for the description and thumbnail. 
    • If the asset does not exist in the LibGuides system yet:
      • Go back to the Create New... tab and fill out the blank fields.
      • Going forward, you will search for and reuse this new Asset.

Duplicate Assets

Duplicate assets are automatically created when an existing asset is copied--either individually or as part of an entire box. There is not a great way to avoid this with normal usage, but it's more of a question of efficiency than functionality. Having multiple duplicates makes universal changes or updates more complicated and time-consuming. When you can, follow these best practices to keep duplicates to a minimum:

  • When reusing an individual asset, do not make a copy. You will still be able to write a custom description instead of the existing one.
  • Instead of copying an entire box, recreate it from scratch by reusing existing assets. If you plan to reuse an entire box multiple times, utilize your personal style guide and link from there.

Updating Assets

We are still working out a plan for cleaning up the existing Assets list so there will be fewer duplicates. If you need to update an existing Asset (e.g. if the URL for a website changes): 

  • Go in to the Assets list and search for the correct asset.
  • Click on the Mapping Count number to see which guides are using a particular asset to check you have the right one.
  • Use the Edit button to open up the asset fields.
  • Make the changes and Save.
  • Be aware that changes will be made to all guides that use that asset but will not overwrite any custom titles or descriptions.