LibGuides Best Practices: Style Guide

Academia.edu

Research Gate

Google Scholar

ORCID

Research Visibility
Researcher Profiles
Managing Your Online Presence

Libraries subscribe to various types of periodicals, such as scholarly (some of which may be peer-reviewed, blind peer-reviewed, editorial review) popular, or trade publications. Choosing which to use depends on your topic, the type of writing you are doing, your assignment, and the sources your professor wants you to use. Many databases offer the option to limit to "Peer Reviewed". If you're not sure if a journal is considered peer-reviewed, check Ulrich's by looking up the title of the journal. 

What is a peer-reviewed journal? 

A scholarly/academic journal is peer-reviewed when manuscripts are sent to experts, sometimes anonymously (blind peer-reviewed), in the related field. They make recommendations to editor for publication, rejection or revision. These journals are generally thought to be of the highest quality.

Have a lot of citations you want to enter in your works cited/references list? Try a citation manager.

Do you need the Web or Desktop version?

• Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
• Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
• Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.

Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:

Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (refers to Desktop EndNote)

LibKey Nomad

This is a browser extension - if you find an article on the web, it will bring you to the full-text through TXST Libraries. This tool can also help with alerting you to journals considered "Problematic" (potentially predatory).

Databases automatically link you to the fulltext or offer the option to check to find a copy of your article, "Full Text Finder". Sometimes you'll see this option under Access Options:

• All current Texas State students and employees are eligible.
• Cards are valid for 1 long semester.
• Materials must be returned to the same library from which they were borrowed.
• You are responsible for any charges for lost or damaged materials. 
• Students that do not return items will have "holds" placed on their records. This will prevent you from registering for classes, obtaining transcripts or grades, etc.
• For questions about TexShare contact the Ask Alkek Desk at 512.245.2686

BrowZine is an app available through Texas State University Libraries and allows you to browse academic journals by subject, easily review tables of contents, and download full articles.

Stay Current by creating a personal bookshelf of titles to follow and receive new issue and new article notifications. Get access on your computer, mobile device, or phone. Download the app for or Apple and android devices.

Use the Ask Us! service for questions about library resources, research assignments or other information. We offer chat and text, or you can email your question.

You may also Request Research Assistance with a librarian or specialist. 

• Cards are valid for 1 long semester.
• Materials must be returned to the same library from which they were borrowed.
• You are responsible for any charges for lost or damaged materials. 
• Students that do not return items will have "holds" placed on their records. This will prevent you from registering for classes, obtaining transcripts/grades.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a free lending service available to current Texas State students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that Alkek Library does not own such as journal articles, books, DVDs, CDs—anything you might need for your research.

Use ILLiad, the online Interlibrary Loan request, to order your ILL items. Enter as much information as you know about the item you need, and the ILL staff will try to track it down.

Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.408.3996 or email with additional questions. Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the main floor of Alkek Library.

Scan Request: The University Libraries will scan and deliver chapters and articles from its print resources. Current Texas State students, faculty, and staff are eligible to use this service. We will scan chapters and articles only (max. 50 pages). We cannot scan entire books or journal issues. Limit: 1 request per person per day. Please allow three (3) working days for processing. Library staff will deliver an electronic file via ILLiad or via email.

A TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at Participating Libraries.

Cards are valid for 1 long semester.

• Materials must be returned to the same library from which they were borrowed.
• You are responsible for any charges for lost or damaged materials. 
• Students that do not return items will have "holds" placed on their records. This will prevent you from registering for classes, obtaining transcripts/grades.

Reference Material in the form of subject dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks typically provide background essays, definitions, broad overviews of various topics, or other pertinent facts. Online reference resources can be searched via multi-disciplinary collections like those below.

Consider using a citation management software to help keep track of your citations for your bibliography and offers a Web and Desktop version. EndNote is a citation management tool that enables you to:

► Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
► Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
►Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.

See Also:  EndNote Web Tutorials  |  EndNote Desktop Tutorials  |  Desktop Styles Download

Print copies of Various Style Guides

Zotero is a free, open-access tool developed by an independent, nonprofit organization that has no financial interest in your private information. The free version provides 300 MB of storage space and additional storage is available for a fee. Zotero lets you:      

  ► Attach images, notes, and PDFs to your citations   
  ► Organize and tag your citations into collections and folders            
  ► Create bibliographies automatically as well as in-text citations    
  ► Share references and research information with a group  

See Also:  Quick-Start Guide  |  Get Help with Zotero  |  Zotero FAQs  |  User Forums  |  ZoteroBib

Zotero: A Guide for Librarians, Researchers, and Educators / Jason Puckett.

Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information.

Consider the features in Settings to make it work better with your research:

►Library Links - FindIt@TxState
►Bibliography Manager - set this EndNote (which is referring to the desktop version).

Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals, but this filter is not available in Google Scholar. Consult Ulrich's to find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed by searching the title of the journal.

LibKey Nomad

This is a browser extension - if you find an article on the web, it will bring you to the full-text through TXST Libraries. This tool can also help with alerting you to journals considered "Problematic" (potentially predatory).

 
BrowZine is an app available through Texas State University Libraries and allows you to browse academic journals by subject, easily review tables of contents, and download full articles.

Stay Current by creating a personal bookshelf of titles to follow and receive new issue and new article notifications. Get access on your computer, mobile device, or phone. Download the app for or Apple and android devices.

Libraries subscribe to various types of periodicals, such as scholarly (some of which may be peer-reviewed, blind peer-reviewed, editorial review) popular, or trade publications. Choosing which to use depends on your topic, the type of writing you are doing, your assignment, and the sources your professor wants you to use. Many databases offer the option to limit to "Peer Reviewed". If you're not sure if a journal is considered peer-reviewed, check Ulrich's by looking up the title of the journal. 

What is a peer-reviewed journal? 

A scholarly/academic journal is peer-reviewed when manuscripts are sent to experts, sometimes anonymously (blind peer-reviewed), in the related field. They make recommendations to editor for publication, rejection or revision. These journals are generally thought to be of the highest quality.

Floor 1, Alkek One

Services: ITAC Help Desk, Print Shop
Spaces: DesignSpace, GeoSpace, Immersion Studio, MakerSpace, YouStar Studios: Video Recording, Audio Recording, Production, Open Computers (behind stairs)
Offices: Vice Provost, University Librarian, 512.408.0576

Floor 2

Services: Ask Alkek Desk: 245-2686, Library Material Checkout, Reserve, Secured Collection, Interlibrary Loan pick up, Lost & Found, Government Document Assistance, Public Computers, Security Guard
Spaces: Open Computers, Printers, Media Corner, Open Theater, Reservable Collaboration Rooms 

Floor 3

Resources: Collections: DVDs, CDs, Equipment, Juvenile Collection, Current Periodicals, Popular Reading, Language Learning CDs, Models, Kits, Microfilm, Graphic Novels, TCMC Collection (K-12 Textbooks), Government Documents, Games, Toys, Maps
Offices: Learning Engagement, Peer Coaches

Floor 4

Spaces: Library Instruction (440), Instruction Lab (452), Conference Halls A & B, Lounge with Vending Machines and Microwaves
Resources: Government Documents Collection (Check in at the Ask Us! Desk on the main floor of Alkek Library for assistance.)
Offices: Student Learning Assistance Center (SLAC) Room 411: 245-2515, Veterans Academic Success Center (VASC) Room 404: 245-6192 

Floor 5

Spaces: Quiet Study Areas, Nursing Mother's Room (536), individual and group study rooms 
Resources: A-J General Collection

Floor 6

Spaces: Quiet Study Areas, Computer Lab: 245-2106, Group Study Rooms
Resources: K-Z General Collection

Floor 7

Spaces: Open Study Areas, Individual and group study rooms
Resources: The Wittliff Collections: 245-2313 

Library Hours (Fall, Spring Semesters)

Library Hours: 245-2187
Hours vary for interim, holidays, finals

Search by keywords/phrases and use Boolean searching.

AND: "special education" AND disproportion* | search results will include both keywords/phrases
OR: "social media" OR twitter OR tiktok | search results can include any one of these three keywords/phrases
NOT:  "social media" NOT facebook  |  search results must include "social media", excludes citations that mention facebook

These tools will help you find, save, and organize your articles - and help you stay current in your field.

LibKey Nomad

This is a browser extension - if you find an article on the web, it will bring you to the full-text through TXST Libraries.

Browzine

This is a desktop and mobile app that lets you build a bookshelf of your favorite journals - and let you know when new articles are published.

  Google Scholar

Use the above link to access the TXST instance of Google Scholar - find articles there, and get the full text through TXST Libraries.

Search Journals/Periodicals by the title of the journal, newspaper, or magazine.

A Browse Subjects option is also available. 

Try Start Your Research first! Search results can be limited by Material Type and Peer Review.