| Google Scholar |
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (refers to Desktop EndNote)
- Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.
Search Tips
Search by keywords/small phrases and use Boolean searching.
AND: reading AND motivat*
OR: "phonemic awareness" OR "phonological awareness"
Use "quotation marks" to search for whole phrases > "athletic training"
Use the database’s built in limiting features, like Date and Peer-Review.
Consider truncation. The symbol used is usually *. ATHLET* will retrieve: athlete, athletic, athletics, etc.
Check Subject terms to see if there are any synonym terms to consider.
Find peer reviewed articles in Start Your Research
Try Start Your Research first! Search results can be limited by Material Type and Peer Review.
- Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window3D interactive models of all systems in human anatomy; slides of MRI images, and cadaver specimens. Clinical specialties include speech & language pathology, otolaryngology, physical therapy, and sports medicine.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThe main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowScholarly research covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, & testing. 1900 to present.
- ERIC (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Education journals and documents (research reports, evaluation studies, curriculum guides & lesson plans collected by the U.S. Dept. of Education). 1966 to present.
- MEDLINEBiomedicine, Behavioral Sciences, Bioengineering, Pre-clinical Science, Health Policy Development and Life Sciences. 1865-present
- CAB AbstractsAgriculture, environment, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, as well as the management and conservation of natural resources.
- SPORTDiscusSport, fitness & related disciplines. International in scope. 1800s-present
- ScienceDirectOver 4,000 Elsevier science journals and tens of thousands of books covering a wide variety of subjects in physical sciences & engineering, life sciences, health & medicine, social sciences & humanities.
- BioOne CompleteBiology, ecology, zoology and environmental science.
- BIOSISBiology, life sciences, medicine, science & technology, and biomedicine. International coverage. Includes all BIOSIS Previews journals plus additional citation data. 1926-present
- PsycINFOPeer reviewed journal articles and books in psychology, counseling and related fields, such as sociology, linguistics, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology.1887-present
- Physical Education IndexFitness, sports medicine, kinesiology, biomechanics, motor learning, sport law, recreation, standardized fitness tests, sports equipment, business and marketing, coaching and training, and sport sociology/psychology, health education & curricula, & physical therapy. 1970-present