Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art & Design: Reference

A research guide for finding Art & Design reference materials, books, periodicals and articles, images, career resources, and web sites.

Using Reference Materials

Reference materials, including encyclopedias and dictionaries, can be used when you are starting your research to get background information.

They are great for giving you keywords that you can use when you start searching for articles on your topic in the library databases or on the web.

Check Credo Reference or Oxford Reference or all of our E-Reference Sources at Alkek Library

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias/Directories/Indexes

American Art Directory - Z5937 .A78

  • Bi-annual directory of art schools, art organizations, and art information center.

Artspeak: a guide to contemporary ideas, movements, and buzzwords, 1945 to the present -   Ref  N6490 .A87 1997

 
 

Contemporary photographers -- Ref  TR139 .C664  1995
 
 
The Dictionary of ArtRef N31 .D5
 

Dictionary of Women Artists Ref N31 .G76

Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography -- Ref  TR9 .E53 2008


The Encyclopedia of SculptureRef NB198 .E53 2004

Encyclopedia of twentieth-century photography --  Ref TR642 .E5 2006


Encyclopedia of World Art Ref N31 .E4833

The Focal encyclopedia of photography: digital imaging, theory and applications, history, and science -- Ref  TR9 .F6 2007

The Focal encyclopedia of photography: digital imaging, theory and applications, history, and science -- Online

 
From Abacus to ZeusN33 .P5

  • This is a dictionary of art related terms including processes, symbols, mythological Gods.

Grove Art Online

Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art - eBook

Illustration Index 1977-1981N7525 .I44 1977-81


Illustration Index 1982-1986
N7525 .I44 1982-86

  • This is a secondary source. It gives dates and country, then refers you to the title that contains the biographical information.
Index to Art Reproductions in BooksRef N7525 .H48 1974
 
 
 
 
 
 
  • Please select Art & Architecture under "Subject Reference"
Picture Reference File Ref N7560 .P5,Vol. 1, A Compendium

 
Photography Books Index IITR199 .M67 1985
 
The photography encyclopedia -- Ref TR9 .M39 1999 
 
Photography IndexTR199 .P37
 
 
 
A Short Guide To Writing About Art --  N7476 .B37 2011, Reserve Shelves, 3rd Floor
 
 
 
Who Was Who in American ArtRef N6512 .W56
 
 
World Painting IndexRef ND45 .H38
  • This is a secondary source which lists by artist of title of their major works and where you can find a reproduction of the work.