Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art & Design: Books

A research guide for finding Art & Design reference materials, books, periodicals and articles, images, career resources, and web sites.

Library Links for Finding Artists' Books & Zines

Make a Zine!

You can also make your own zine. Here is a template to give you an idea of how to make one!

 Zines Research Guide

New! Jacqueline Barnitz Collection

You can see the Barnitz Collection of Latin American Art History titles here.

Useful Reference Books

Subject Specific Bibliographies of Resources at Alkek Library

New Art & Communication Design Titles!

Loading ...

Other Catalogs

Texshare - Check out a book from almost anywhere in Texas with one of these cards. Click for information.

Worldcat Searches thousands of libraries -  built-in interlibrary loan request button allows you to get material we don't own.

ILL - FADS/GrADS - TexShare

Alkek Library Catalog - Searching for Books

Search the library catalog for print resources, ebooks, movies, and more!

TIPS:

  • Click on the book title to see subject headings (example below), if you're having trouble coming up with the right keywords to find your books or articles. 
  • Use truncation, for example if searching for political or politics, you can type polit* and get any form of the root word before the *

Finding Artists' Books

How to Search for Artists' Books, interesting formats or handmade, in the Library Catalog

From the library catalog http://catalog.library.txstate.edu/
change the Keyword drop down to Subject and type in artists books and hit search.
Click on image to see details

Then click on the first link that says Artists Books and you should see about 90 results (The page that this link lives on can also be an interesting page to explore what types of artists books we have). These are located in the general collection (open stacks), secured collections, and special collections. These will also include books about artists books or bookmaking. You could also do a keyword rather than subject search but they may not all be actual artists’ books.

To limit to only those in secured, you can click on Limit/Sort Search at the top of the page and choose Secured Collection in the Location selection box. You could also start a new catalog search change the Keyword drop down to Subject again then change the Search Entire Collection drop down to Special Collections and search with the keyword artists books again. This will show you all the artists books located in Special Collections.


 

Finding Exhibition Catalogs

All exhibition catalogs are not kept in one place on any floor.  

Try a search in the library catalog for the topic word, such as music, art, an artist's name, photography, history or a historical or cultural event with the word "and" and the word "exhibition". You don’t need the word “catalog” unless you really want to limit the results because there are some items with “catalog” in the subject heading. Using just the word “exhibition” will get you a lot more results as it is a more common subject heading with another subject.  For example, searching the library catalog for "music and exhibition" will get you over 100 results which you could narrow down to just under 100 and only books that you can check out by limiting to Alkek General Collection. If you add the word "catalog" it narrows it down to under 30 so you may be missing some good ones by addiing the word "catalog".

You can also try these searches if you want more art museum related results: museum catalog exhibition OR art exhibition catalog OR "exhibition catalog". General call number areas for browsing include the regular size and Oversize Ns for art on the 6th floor, as well as the TRs for photography on the 7th floor. But for other subject areas such as culture, history, music, etc., you will want to use the library catalog or use our Ask a Librarian service. See map below for call number locations. Not all exhibition catalogs are browsable on the shelves. Some are in Secured Collections or Special Collections. You can ask to see these if you find one that looks interesting to you while doing a catalog search. If you have any questions please contact the Art & Design Librarian Tara Smith.

Handouts for Finding Books

 

Below is a browsing map with different areas of inerest highlighted in yellow to use when you are looking for any image related subject, topic, or medium. Click on the image to download a printable PDF version of it and to see it better. :)

Finding Books, eBooks, and other library materials

Use the Library Catalog to search the main collection for print resources and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details.

Below is a list of Call Number areas for Fine Arts and Design Resources for general browsing purposes when searching for images. For specific information see the section on how to use the Library Web Catalog for searching for art related information.
 

 

Subject Call Number
Advertising HF 5801-6182
Aesthetics BH
Architecture NA
Art Encyclopedias N1-9165
Art General NX
Decorative Arts NK
Drawing & Illustration NC
Graphic Arts & Computer Graphics TR, NC, Z200
Jewelry Making TS, TT
Music M
Painters & Painting ND
Photography TR
Printmaking NE
Sculpture & Sculptors NB