Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection Development Guide: Health & Human Performance: Selection Criteria

This guide provides collection development information to HHP faculty and faculty representatives.

Courses

REC 1310. Introduction to Recreation and Leisure Services. Introduction to recreation, includes brief historical backgrounds, professional opportunities, present status, past and present leaders. Role of leisure time in our social structure, professional responsibility, familiarization with current issues and trends, and professional literature. 
REC 1330. Leisure and Outdoor Recreation. This course provides students with an overview of the role the natural world plays in recreation and leisure services. The course will focus on values of outdoor recreation, adventure recreation, environmental impact, and the role of government in the provision and protection of outdoor recreation programs and resources.
REC 1370. Introduction to Therapeutic Recreation. This course surveys history, philosophy, terminology and professional opportunities in therapeutic recreation. The role of leisure and therapeutic recreation in enhancing quality of life is explored. 
REC 2330. Leadership in Recreation and Leisure Services. Discussion of leadership theories and skill development for indoor-outdoor games and sports. Teaching activities to develop skill in programming various indoor/outdoor recreational settings. 
REC 2335. Recreation Program Development. Basic principles and procedures for developing recreation programs that respond to human needs.
REC 2336. Directed Field Experience in Programming Recreation. programming and leadership with a selected recreation agency. Online learning modules and communications guide the work and professional reflections.
REC 2370. Practices and Interventions in Therapeutic Recreation. Students engage in classroom content and service learning to develop knowledge and skills in facilitation techniques used in a variety of therapeutic recreation settings.
REC 3325. Recreation Administration. This course covers administrative practices relevant to entry-level professionals in the recreation industry. Topics include foundations of management, decision-making, planning, coordination of resources, and ethics in the public recreation sector.
REC 3335. Advanced Recreation Program Development. advanced program planning skills through the integration of theories and models of program development, consideration of diverse target markets, performing needs assessments, and planning for risk management issues.
REC 3340. Design and Maintenance of Recreational Facilities. Introduce theories and provide practical experience in the design, development, operation, maintenance, administration of various recreational facilities.
REC 3351. Evaluation of Leisure Service Programming. Methods, techniques and application of the evaluation process related to a wide variety of leisure service functions: clientele and prospective participants, programs, personnel, facilities, organizations and literature. 
REC 3370. Assessment and Documentation in Therapeutic Recreation. introduction to selecting, utilizing, and interpreting assessment instruments, and to the processes used to document assessment results and client progress used in therapeutic recreation practice.
REC 4320. Therapeutic Recreation and People with Psychiatric Conditions. theoretical and practical foundation for applying the therapeutic recreation process with persons with psychiatric conditions. Focus will be on the development of skills necessary to implement evidence-based interventions aimed at behavior change. 
REC 4330. Entrepreneurial Recreation Management. study of the scope and the entrepreneurial management of leisure services, with a focus will be on financial management related to profit centers including planning, legal liability, record keeping, and revenue management.
REC 4335. Outdoor Recreation Programming. principles and procedures for developing and leading recreation programs in a variety of specialized, outdoor environments. Students will demonstrate competencies for Leave No Trace certification.
REC 4350. Theories and Methods of Supervision in Recreation and Leisure Services. theories and methods relating to recruitment, selecting, hiring, training, disciplining, and discharging employees. This course also addresses legal issues related to personnel supervision. 
REC 4370. Principles of Therapeutic Recreation. principles of therapeutic recreation services including comprehensive program planning, administration processes, and issues related to professionalism.
REC 4380. Seminar in Recreation. trends in leisure services, with emphasis on the interactional effects of diverse services, consumers, and environments.
REC 5310. Philosophical Foundations of Recreation & Leisure Services. meanings of leisure, leisure behavior, and leisure services from historical, philosophical, sociological, and political perspectives. Students will develop a philosophical view of leisure based on exploration of the history of leisure and the leisure profession as well as consideration of the nature of the individual and society.
REC 5318D. Technology, Leisure & Recreation: A critical survey. Modern society has increasingly been redefined by practices contextualized by leisure/recreation and embedded in the essence of leisure. Another definer of modern life is technology. This course is a critical survey of the confluence of these two domains, with new meanings made evident.
REC 5318E. Physical environment, life and leisure I: Built public spaces and the leisure experience. The physical environment is not only a container of human action, it is also itself experienced by people. This course will examine how the human-made environment is a source of meaning and experience and suggest, consequently, how it can be modeled to facilitate preferences by users.
REC 5318L. Outdoor Recreation Leadership and Administration. theoretical foundations of outdoor and adventure recreation programming and sustainable ecotourism. Principles and procedures for developing and leading recreation programs in a variety of specialized, outdoor environments will be studied. Leave No Trace competency and outdoor skills will be analyzed and demonstrated in outdoor settings.
REC 5318M. Programming for Active Older Adults. Individuals who work in leisure and aging focus on enhancing the quality of life for individuals aged 55 and over. The population of persons over the age of 65 is growing rapidly and in the US the 'older adult' population now includes members from three distinct age cohort group.
REC 5325. Philosophical Foundations of Therapeutic Recreation. Course examines the history, theory, and philosophy of therapeutic recreation such as service models, standards, and legislation. The use of therapeutic recreation in supporting the attainment and maintenance of well-being of people with differing characteristics and abilities is explored in a variety of service settings.
REC 5326. Advanced Practices and Interventions in Therapeutic Recreation. therapeutic recreation process with a focus on planning and implementation of individualized services and supports for persons with disabling conditions. Therapeutic recreation practice concepts of interventions, modalities, instruction, leadership, supervision, and leisure counseling are explored. 
REC 5327. Advanced Assessment and Documentation in Therapeutic Recreation. assessment and documentation phases of the therapeutic recreation process. Students will administer, score, interpret, and report standardized and specialized assessment instruments and documentation methods.
REC 5328. Advanced Principles of Therapeutic Recreation. therapeutic recreation related to persons with psychological disorders and physical disabilities. The course engages students in advanced case study design and implementation of treatment plan utilizing a transdisciplinary approach to rehabilitation. 
REC 5329. Therapeutic Recreation in Psychiatric Settings. cse study development within a variety of service settings. Particular emphasis is on treatment modalities and techniques applicable to group interventions. 
REC 5330. Applications of Management and Leadership in Leisure Services. management issues within recreation administration with an emphasis on the role of the leader as a conduit for effectiveness. Content will include theories and philosophies, processes, accountability, strategic planning, and conflict resolution applications.
REC 5340. Social Psychology of Recreation and Leisure. overview of the personal, social and social-psychological contexts of leisure; utilizing current literature the course will focus on examining leisure and recreation behavior from psychological, sociological and social-psychological constructs that are contributing to a contemporary, interdisciplinary understanding of the leisure phenomenon.
REC 5346. Literature and Research. Directed reading, reports, and discussions of the current literature in the field of education, a critical analysis of research techniques and the locations and securing of information, together with the steps necessary to the solution of research problems in this field.
REC 5350. Legal and Ethical Issues in Recreation and Leisure Services. A seminar style course that focuses on legal and ethical issues related to recreation and leisure services. Tort law, participant rights, accessibility, credentialing.
REC 5360. Applications of Finance & Marketing in Recreation. This course is a study of financial and marketing concepts, principles, and techniques as they relate to recreation and leisure delivery systems. These include full cost accounting, pricing, financial management, distribution, promotional techniques, marketing plans, alternative funding and proposals.
REC 5380. Administering Leisure Delivery Systems. This course content provides students with program development and administration tools developed and tested within the recreation industry. Topics may include the exploration of programming and organizational theory, administrative processes, and the application of the organizational principles to the recreation service delivery systems.

AT 1298. Orientation to Athletic Training Education. academic and clinical aspects of the CAATE accredited athletic training education program.  
AT 2156. Taping and Bandaging Athletic Injuries. 
AT 2260. Acute Care of Injuries and Illnesses. immediate evaluation and specialized care of acute injuries and illnesses common in sports settings. Lectures and laboratory experiences are focused on key aspects of emergency sports health care, including the rapid assessment, resuscitation, packaging and transportation of injured patients. 
AT 2356. Prevention and Care of Athletic Injuries.
AT 2397. Clinical Experience in Athletic Training I. injury prevention and emergency management, integrated into a clinical education experience designed to assess professional behaviors, knowledge and skills, and clinical proficiency. This course combines didactic with clinical education experiences obtained under the supervision of a licensed preceptor at an on-campus clinical site. 
AT 2398. Clinical Experience in Athletic Training II. advanced athletic injury evaluation and management into a clinical education experience designed to assess professional behaviors, cognitive knowledge, psychomotor skills, and proficiency-based case simulations.
AT 3111. Clinical Assessment I Laboratory. This laboratory will assist students in developing the psychomotor skills used in the clinical evaluation of injuries and illnesses involving the head and face, brain, cervical spine, upper extremity, thorax, and pulmonary and cardiovascular systems. 
AT 3112. Clinical Assessment II Laboratory. developing the psychomotor skills used in the clinical evaluation of injuries and illnesses involving the lumbar spine and lower extremity injuries as well as abdomen, gastrointestinal, genitourinary, endocrine, dermatologic, and systemic illnesses. 
AT 3126. Applied Laboratory of Upper Extremity Injuries. analysis of the anatomy, injury signs and symptoms, and special tests used in the clinical evaluation of upper extremity injuries to the physically active individual. 
AT 3128. Applied Laboratory of Lower Extremity Injuries. This course will present a study and critical analysis of the anatomy, injury signs and symptoms, and special tests used in the clinical evaluation of lower extremity injuries to the physically active individual.
AT 3136. Applied Laboratory for Therapeutic Modalities. laboratory and field applications of therapeutic modalities of all athletic injuries. 
AT 3146. Applied Laboratory for Therapeutic Exercise and Rehabilitation. provides students with experiences in laboratory and field applications of therapeutic exercise and rehabilitation of athletic injuries. 
AT 3226. Medical Conditions and Disabilities. evaluation and management strategies of primarily non-orthopaedic conditions commonly encountered in a physically active population and, to a lesser extent, special populations.
AT 3311/3312. Clinical Assessment. instructs students in the knowledge and skills used in the clinical evaluation of injuries and illnesses involving the head and face, brain, cervical spine, upper extremity, thorax, and pulmonary and cardiovascular systems. 
AT 3326/3328. Evaluation Techniques of Upper Extremity Injuries. study and critical analysis of the anatomy, injury signs and symptoms, and specific tests used in the clinical evaluation of upper extremity injuries to the physically active individual. 
AT 3333. Therapeutic Interventions for Medical and Psychosocial Conditions. addresses the athletic training knowledge and skills required to evaluate and manage common medical conditions and psychosocial concerns found among the physically active.
AT 3336. Principles and Techniques of Therapeutic Modalities. evidence-based approach to the use of therapeutic modalities in physical medicine settings. Special emphasis is placed on understanding the physiological effects, indications, contraindications and clinical applications of therapeutic modalities in the treatment and rehabilitation of musculoskeletal and neurological injuries and diseases.
AT 3346. Therapeutic Exercise and Rehabilitation. evidence-based approach to the use of therapeutic exercise in physical medicine settings. Special emphasis is placed on understanding the physiological effects, indications, contraindications and clinical applications of therapeutic exercise in the treatment and rehabilitation of musculoskeletal and neurological injuries and diseases.
AT 3358. Clinical Pathopharmacology. combines pathophysiology, the study of dynamic aspects of disease processes and study of drugs prescribed to prevent, diagnose, cure, or care for disease across the lifespan. Content includes etiology, pathogenesis, clinical presentation, implications for treatment, and pharmacological management.
AT 3497. Clinical Experience in Athletic Training. integrates topics in advanced athletic injury evaluation and management into a clinical education experience designed to assess professional behaviors, cognitive knowledge, psychomotor skills, and proficiency-based case simulations.
AT 4313. Clinical Therapeutic Interventions. provides a theoretical and clinical background in the use of therapeutic interventions in physical medicine, both modalities and exercise, for patients with musculoskeletal and neurological injuries.
AT 4356. Organization and Management of Athletic Training Programs. This course addresses the organizational and administrative aspects of athletic training program management. Topics will include, but are not limited to, medical, ethical, legal, personnel and financial management, medical record keeping, facilities, supply requisition and inventory, third-party reimbursement, drug testing and other current professional issues. 
AT 4497. Clinical Experience in Athletic Training V. This course integrates topics in therapeutic interventions and exercise into a clinical education experience that assesses professional behaviors, cognitive knowledge, psychomotor skills, and proficiency-based case simulations. The course incorporates didactic and clinical education at an assigned clinical site under the supervision of a clinical instructor.
AT 4498. Clinical Experience in Athletic Training VI. This course integrates topics in nutrition, professionalism, and administration into a clinical education experience that assesses professional behaviors, cognitive knowledge, psychomotor skills, and proficiency-based case simulations.
AT 5101. Graduate Assistant Development. This course is required of all graduate assistants and provides regular in-service and planned periodic evaluations of instructional responsibilities.
AT 5303. Seminar in Athletic Training. Current trends in athletic and physical education concerning the care and prevention of injuries with special emphasis on therapeutic and rehabilitation techniques. Taping and bandaging will be practiced in a laboratory situation.
AT 5307. Bioenergetics of Exercise and Rehabilitation. This course is designed to provide both a theoretical and clinical basis for the use of therapeutic exercise in physiological basis of muscular, respiratory, cardiovascular, and nervous systems in the rehabilitation of all athletic injuries.
AT 5308. Therapeutic Exercise and Rehabilitation. theoretical and clinical basis for the use of therapeutic exercise in the rehabilitation setting, as well as to impart knowledge pertaining to the physiological effects, indications, contraindications and applications of therapeutic exercise in the rehabilitation of all athletic injuries.
AT 5310. Proprioception and Neuromuscular Control in Rehabilitation. This course provides for an advanced study of the concepts, theories, and current research related to proprioception, postural stability, and neuromuscular control as applied to the prevention, diagnosis, and clinical management of sport-related musculoskeletal injuries and concussions.
AT 5311. Biomechanics of Musculoskeletal Injury. This course focuses on the application of biomechanical principles to the pathoetiology, diagnosis, and physiological capacity for healing of injuries to bone, ligament, tendon, cartilage, and other human tissues, with an emphasis on current injury research.
AT 5312. Evidence-Based Practice in Sports Medicine. This course is designed to provide students with advanced study in the elements of evidence-based practice in sports medicine with focus on the role of accessing, retrieving, and critically appraising evidence to answer clinical questions in patient care. Must be admitted to the M.S. in Athletic Training Program or instructor approval required.
AT 5318. Therapeutic Evaluation and Intervention. This course explores the scientific bases of therapeutic musculoskeletal exercise and neuromuscular evaluative techniques in the rehabilitation process.

ESS 1100. Lifetime Fitness and Wellness. health-related physical fitness and how to teach these concepts; design and implement an exercise program for enhancing health-related physical fitness. 
ESS 1101. Seminar in Exercise and Sport Science. interventions for healthy versus clinical populations, professional opportunities, individual awareness of professional responsibilities, familiarization with current trends and issues, and professional literature. 
ESS 1128. Aquatic Therapy. aquatic therapy and aquatic emergency management; American Red Cross Basic Water Rescue Certification. 
ESS 1172. Beginning Field Sports. prepares students to become proficient instructors of field sports (softball and soccer) with an emphasis on skill development, instructional practices, peer coaching, rules, terminology, offensive and defensive strategies, team organization, game play, referee skills, skills assessment, and conditioning for field sports. 
ESS 1175. Beginning Jogging and Conditioning. biomechanics of jogging, safety rules, and conditioning principles relevant to the activity, including warming-up and cooling-down, hydration, monitoring and modifying intensity, training for road races, and jogging-related injuries.
ESS 1176. Beginning Tennis, Badminton, and Other Racket Sports. prepares students to become proficient instructors of racket sports (tennis and badminton). 
ESS 1177. Beginning Track and Field. students to become proficient instructors of track and field, with an emphasis on skill development and instructional practices, rules, terminology, team organization, communication, athlete selection, and event-specific conditioning for track and field.
ESS 1178. Beginning Volleyball and Basketball. This course prepares students to become proficient instructors of volleyball and basketball. Emphasis is on skill development, instructional practices, peer coaching, rules, terminology, offensive and defensive strategies, team organization, communication, game play, referee skills, skills assessment, and conditioning for volleyball and basketball. Restricted to majors or minors in Exercise and Sports Science, Health and Fitness Management, or Coaching. 
ESS 1179. Beginning Weight Training. This course prepares students to be proficient instructors of all forms of resistance training. Emphasis is on understanding the proper, safe, and effective techniques of weight lifting. Students will learn how to develop resistance-training programs for untrained individuals with a variety of conditions. Restricted to majors or minors in Exercise and Sports Science, Athletic Training, or Health and Fitness Management.
ESS 1192. Beginning Balance and Tumbling. This course prepares students as proficient instructors of the basic fundamentals of balance and tumbling. Emphasis is on the teaching of progressions, skills, and routines. Students will learn and practice safe teaching techniques for spotting in selected balance and tumbling skills.
ESS 1201. Group Exercise Instructor Training. This course is for students interested in becoming certified group exercise instructors. Students will learn how to safely and effectively conduct group exercise classes. Students will be trained to teach a variety of formats, such as high- and low-impact aerobics, step aerobics, kickboxing, yoga, and resistance training.
ESS 1310. Introduction to Teaching Physical Education. This course is designed to provide pre-service physical educators an introduction to fundamental principles of teaching physical education in K-12 settings. Progressive steps in developing a basic understanding of pedagogical skills, physical education curriculum, and professional attributes needed to pursue the teaching profession.
ESS 2320. Motor Development. study of changes in motor behavior across the lifespan, the processes that underlie these changes, and factors that affect them.
ESS 3117. Laboratory in Exercise Physiology. In this laboratory course, students perform experiments that highlight the physiological responses to exercise. This course also introduces students to basic techniques in the assessment of health and human performance, including the assessment of maximal oxygen consumption, body composition, anaerobic power and capacity, muscular fitness, movement economy, and dietary intake.
ESS 3303. Assistant Dive Instructor. This course provides students with the technical knowledge necessary to prepare for the Assistant Diver Instructor Scuba Certification. Topics include advanced diving physiology, air station operations, assisting instructors with beginning open-water dive students, and boat diving operations.
ESS 3304. Divemaster. provides students with the technical knowledge necessary to prepare for the National Association of Underwater Instructors Divemaster Scuba Certification. Topics include advanced diving physiology, organizing open-water dives, air station operations, assisting instructors with beginning and advanced open-water dive students, and boat diving operations.
ESS 3317. Exercise Physiology. acute and chronic physiological responses to exercise. Emphasis is on muscle bioenergetics, muscle contractile properties, performance improvement through training and supplementation, as well as cardiopulmonary and endocrine responses to exercise. 
ESS 3319. Introduction to Cardiopulmonary Exercise Physiology. cardiovascular and pulmonary systems, discusses the physiological dynamics, control mechanisms, and system interrelationships of the cardiovascular and pulmonary systems, and explores the effects of exercise on these systems, including the physiological factors that limit exercise tolerance across the spectrum of health and chronic disease. 
ESS 3320. Biomechanics. introduction to the mechanical foundations of anatomical function and human movement. Qualitative and quantitative biomechanical analyses of human movement are introduced to inform the prescription of technique, equipment, and training interventions.
ESS 3321. Teaching Elementary Children Physical Activity. This course introduces students majoring in Elementary Education and/or Exercise and Sports Science to physical education knowledge and movement concepts. It provides innovative techniques for incorporating physical activity within the elementary school setting. The course presents theory and then guides the students in applying those theories in a practical way. 
ESS 3323. Psychosocial Aspects of Exercise and Sport Science. This course examines the psychological and social theories and research related to physical activity. Emphasis is on the determinants that influence exercise behavior and sport participation. 
ESS 3325. Applied Assessment of Physical Activity. This course is designed to provide students with a theory to practice approach in the assessment of physical activity within the physical education setting. Particular emphasis is placed on empowering students to use relevant and meaningful physical activity assessments in K-12 schools.
ESS 3329. Motor Learning. understanding of the physiological, neurological, and psychological factors affecting performance and acquisition of motor skills. Students will examine the structural components underlying the learning of motor skills an draw upon examples from sport, physical activities, and rehabilitation. 
ESS 3340. Theory and Principles of Coaching. examines the theories and principles of effective coaching, including philosophy, ethics, strategies, team motivation and organization, coach-athlete relationships, performance analysis, and the administration of facilities, personnel, and contests.
ESS 4317. Fitness Assessment and Programming for Healthy Populations. current information on fitness assessment and exercise programming for healthy individuals of all ages and fitness levels. Emphasis is placed on preparation for multiple certifications offered by relevant professional organizations.
ESS 4318. Fitness Assessment and Programming Practicum for Healthy Populations. knowledge and skills associated with appraising health risk, assessing fitness levels, and designing exercise programs for diverse populations through on-line, classroom, and laboratory settings as well as through field-based experiences by working in a variety of venues.
ESS 4319. Fitness Assessment and Programming in Clinical Exercise Science. provides students with an opportunity to develop knowledge, skills, and competence required to assess and prescribe exercise for clinical populations and to gain knowledge related to managed care and rehabilitation with clinical patients.
ESS 4320. Resistance Training and Conditioning. development and evaluation of training principles and programs for diverse populations. Emphasis is placed on physiological adaptations and mechanical principles related to the application of resistance training.
ESS 4321. Fitness Assessment and Programming Practicum in Clinical Exercise Science. current exercise and sports science information on testing and programming for clinical populations. This course provides fundamental knowledge, competence, and skills necessary to conduct safe and valid assessments, interventions, and rehabilitation programs for patients with health problems.
ESS 4323. Adapted Physical Education. all-Level teacher certification candidates in Exercise and Sports Science with content knowledge on legal mandates, evidence-based practices, and the characteristics of selected disabilities and their considerations when designing meaningful individualized physical activity experiences to meet the students with disabilities in school settings. 
ESS 4324. Adapted Physical Activity. adapted physical activity, including sport and leisure for persons with disabilities. This course provides content knowledge on how to instruct physical activities to individuals with unique needs in various settings.
ESS 4333. Fitness Assessment and Programming for Populations Requiring Special Considerations. practical information on fitness assessment and programming for persons requiring special considerations due to their age, pregnancy, obesity, diabetes, low back pain or other health conditions.
ESS 4351. Measurement & Evaluation in Exercise and Sports Science. fundamental principles and techniques of measuring human performance related to Exercise and Sports Science, as well as evaluating and interpreting the results of exercise science and human performance tests in children and adults.
ESS 4624. Principles and Practices for Teaching Physical Education. theory and curriculum encompassing the design and implementation of developmentally appropriate and culturally responsive physical education programs for children and adolescents. Emphasis is on implementing evidenced-based curricula that promote youths' enjoyment of and participation in lifelong physical activity.
ESS 5117. Laboratory in Exercise Physiology. basic techniques in the assessment of health and human performance, including the assessment of maximal oxygen consumption, body composition, anaerobic power and capacity, muscular fitness, movement economy, and dietary intake. 
ESS 5304. Motor Learning and Performance. principles involved in enhancing motor skill acquisition, and physiological, neurological, and psychological factors affecting motor learning and performance.
ESS 5305. Advanced Fitness Assessment and Exercise Prescription. exercise testing and prescription procedures; evaluate fitness and prescribe exercise through laboratory experiences.
ESS 5306. Advanced Exercise Physiology. understanding of the acute responses to exercise and the physiological adaptations that occur in response to exercise training. Additional topics to be covered include environmental influences, aging, and sex differences.
ESS 5307. Advanced Resistance Training and Conditioning. development, instruction, and evaluation of resistance training exercises and programs for diverse populations and settings. Physiological and mechanical principles related to resistance training will be applied to study human performance, injury prevention, and rehabilitation.
ESS 5308. Physical Activity, Exercise, and Epidemiology. role of physical inactivity in the development of chronic diseases and the benefits of activity in prevention efforts. A special emphasis will be placed on activity assessment and intervention research.
ESS 5309. Biomechanics for Exercise & Sports Science. research and research techniques in the biomechanics of exercise and sport science. Students will develop skills in reviewing, planning, and conducting biomechanical research.
ESS 5310. Cardiopulmonary Exercise Physiology. structure, function, neural mechanisms, and integrated responses of the human cardiopulmonary system to acute and chronic exercise. In addition, basic cardiopulmonary pathology, pharmacology, and electrocardiography will be introduced.
ESS 5311. Applied Neuromuscular and Skeletal Muscle Physiology. structure and function of neuromuscular and skeletal muscle physiology; mechanisms that regulate skeletal muscle force production and human performance in response to acute and chronic exercise.
ESS 5317. Exercise Physiology. acute and chronic physiological responses to exercise. Emphasis is on muscle bioenergetics, muscle contractile properties, optimizing human performance through training and supplementation, as well as cardiopulmonary and endocrine responses to exercise.
ESS 5320. Biomechanics. mechanical foundations of anatomical function and human movement. Qualitative and quantitative biomechanical analyses of human movement are introducted to inform the prescription of technique, equipment, and training interventions. This course does not earn graduate degree credit. 
ESS 5322. Inclusion and Diversity in Physical Activity and Sport. prepare physical activity and sport educators with knowledge, skills, and strategies to create inclusive learning environments. Culturally responsive teaching strategies that best accommodate the individual needs of children, adolescents, and adults, with diverse ethnic, racial, cultural, socio-economic, physical, and cognitive needs will be emphasized. 
ESS 5329. Motor Learning. understanding of the physiological, neurological, and psychological factors affecting performance and acquisition of motor skills. Students will examine the structural components underlying the learning of motor skills and draw upon examples from sport, physical activities, and rehabilitation. 
ESS 5344. Improving Instruction in Physical Activity, Sport, Clinical, & Community Settings. skills for professionals working in educational, sport, clinical, and community settings. Students incorporate evidence-based instructional practices and assess teaching using systematic, reliable, and valid measures.
ESS 5346. Research Methods in Health and Human Performance. A study of research methods related to techniques for searching the professional research literature, understanding, planning, and conducting professional research projects, as well as development of skills for writing research proposals related to human performance.
ESS 5353. Curriculum and Instruction in Physical Activity and Sport. evidenced-based curriculum models; develop and implement developmentally appropriate and theoretically based physical activity and sport programs in schools, communities, and athletic venues.
ESS 5354. Developmental Sports Education: Youth Participants. theory, research, and application strategies to implement developmentally appropriate sports programs for youth participants. Social, psychological, pedagogical, philosophical, and physical variables impacting youth in sport are examined. Emphasis is placed on promoting positive youth development by applying evidence-based practices. 
ESS 5355. Developmental Sports Education: High-Level Athletes and Coaching Effectiveness. theory, research, and practical strategies to implement developmentally appropriate sports programs for high-level athletes. Psychological, social, and physical aspects related to athletes’ success and well-being are examined. Research on coaching effectiveness is also explored with emphasis on applying evidence-based practices. 
ESS 5356. Applied Statistics in Health and Human Performance. quantitative statistical methods for planning and conducting experimental and correlational research, as well as techniques for statistical data analysis and interpretation applicable to health and human performance.
ESS 5624. Principles and Practices for Teaching Physical Education. teaching certification in physical education with an emphasis is placed on methods of teaching physical education.

PH 1310. Foundations of Personal Health. introduction to personal health and wellness topics including nutrition, mental health, sexual health, and physical fitness with an emphasis on health trends and health behaviors.
PH 1320. Introduction to Public Health. provides students a basic understanding of U.S. and global public health systems. Students are also introduced to various public health settings, specific careers in public health, and public health certifications.
PH 2338. Substance Use and Abuse. explores the impact of substance use and abuse on personal, public, and population health. Course content includes current statistics and information on substance use and abuse issues and substance prevention interventions with a focus on public health prevention strategies.
PH 2340. Community Health. acquaints students with issues, trends, developments, and principles in community health. The course also provides an overview of selected topics, such as epidemiology, community organization, and program planning. 
PH 3301. Environmental Health. examination of the ecological impact resulting from contemporary sociopolitical action and its resulting influence on human health.
PH 3315. Statistics in Public Health. emphasizes analysis and interpretation of health-related data. Descriptive and inferential statistics (including measures of central tendency and variability, estimation, ANOVA, and regression) will be used to understand factors associated with current health-related issues.
PH 3321. Health in the School Setting. foundation in health methods and activities to provide resources for the elementary and secondary school teacher. Provides an overview of current school health issues: Whole School, Whole Community, Whole Child model, mental health, personal health, family life, substance abuse, and violence in the school setting.
PH 3330. Inclusion and Diversity in Women's Health. explores the health care concerns unique to women and to provide students with opportunities to create strategies to improve women's health. Particular attention will be given to issues that affect women in under-served populations and how to more effectively serve their needs.
PH 3348. Prevention of Disease. etiology of communicable and chronic diseases with special emphasis on health promotion activities to reduce the incidence of disease in communities and society.
PH 3350. Consumer Health. consumer health and decision making with regard to the selection of health products and services. Students will learn how to effectively evaluate health information with emphasis on consumer literacy, public policy, and consumer products and services.
PH 3360. Issues in Human Sexuality. study of human sexuality as a lifelong process of acquiring information and forming healthy attitudes, beliefs, and values regarding sexuality. Human sexuality's impact on personal and public health will be explored.
PH 3370. Epidemiology. epidemiological concepts including determinants of health and patterns of disease in populations, population health descriptive techniques, use of health indicators and secondary data sources. Students will focus on epidemiology in community health assessment and program evaluation, and development of public health strategies and policy.
PH 3374. Global Health. principles of international health in global populations. Students explore roles of health educators collaborating with providers of health services to diverse populations.
PH 3376. Worksite Health Promotion. introduction students to worksite health promotion. The focus of the course is on planning, implementing, and evaluating worksite health promotion programs. The course addresses other contemporary health issues, policies, and considerations that affect worksite health promotion.
PH 4100. Professional Development in Public Health. community or public health promotion internship and to actively participate in professional development activities including conferences, development of resumes and interaction with health professionals.
PH 4336. Health Behavior Theory. health behavior theory, including cognitive, operant, and social theories of motivation and behavior, behavior change theory, social marketing, and social ecology. Students will also learn about the role of behavior theory in health promotion practice and public health interventions.
PH 4640. Public Health Program Planning and Evaluation. apply professional knowledge and skills to the development of public health programs. Topics include needs assessment, data gathering techniques, instrument design, data and statistics, and the interpretation, reporting, and application of findings for program development. Cultural competency and communication are covered.
PH 4660. Internship in Public Health. application of public health concepts to a community or public health setting.
PH 5305. Grant Proposal Writing in Public Health. fundamentals of writing grant proposals in the social sciences. Instruction covers how to package a successful proposal from start to finish, including defining program objectives, selecting approaches and a plan, and preparing a program evaluation and budget.
PH 5310. History and Philosophy of Public Health Education and Promotion. intensive study of historical and philosophical contributions to public health education and promotion program development. Current political issues, public health issues, and influential cultural changes are examined. Focus is placed on developing a professional philosophy of practice in public health education and promotion practice.
PH 5312. Writing for Public Health Professionals. systematic approach to improve technical and professional writing skills. Specifically, theory-based methods for establishing a productive writing habit, generating and editing text, and self-identifying and self-correcting writing problems are presented. Writing for and application of public health research are emphasized.
PH 5315. Applied Behavioral Statistics in Public Health Education and Promotion. introductory and intermediate statistics and procedures commonly used in public health education and promotion. Emphasis will be placed on application of statistical models, analysis software, and interpretation of findings.
PH 5320. Foundations of Public Health. in-depth study of past and current public health programs. The course focuses on the examination of public health programs, policies, and systems that have impacted health status in different populations. A collection of current case-studies will be examined.
PH 5321. Advanced Health Behavior Theory. presentation and critical analysis of the role of theory in health behavior, the description of different theories being utilized in health research and interventions, and the application of these theories to interventions and research.
PH 5325. Ethical Principles in Public Health Education and Promotion. in-depth analysis of ethical standards, principles, and behaviors related to the field of public health education and promotion. Students will explore how to apply, monitor, and model ethical standards in the profession.
PH 5330A. Health Disparities. explores social determinants of health and health disparities in the U.S. and globally. Students explore past and existing public health initiatives to address health disparities in various U.S. communities.
PH 5335. Public Health Education and Promotion Leadership. structured experiences for developing administrative leadership for public health education and promotion programs. Included are leadership philosophy, staffing, programming, budgeting, public relations, facilities, and evaluations.
PH 5345. Public Health Issues in Human Sexuality Education. in depth study of sexuality education as a lifelong process of acquiring information and forming healthy attitudes, beliefs, and values regarding sexuality. Students analyze information and educational resources for implementing and advocating for sexuality instruction through health courses, sexuality education courses, and programs.
PH 5346. Research Methods in Public Health Education and Promotion. research models used in public health education and promotion. Students learn how to design research studies using accepted research methods in the social sciences. In addition, students write the introduction, literature review, and methods sections commonly accepted in public health research.
PH 5350. Advanced Public Health Program Planning and Evaluation. examine social ecological influences on population health in the context of public health program development. Students explore the use of epidemiological data to assist in developing health education and health promotion programs. Concepts include needs assessment, strategy selection, coalition development, implementation plans, and evaluation approaches.
PH 5374. Global Public Health. focuses on principles of international health with global populations. Emphasis is placed on assessing, planning, implementing, and evaluating prevention strategies. Students explore roles of health educators collaborating with providers of health services to diverse population.

Ron Williams: substance abuse prevention, tobacco-free advocacy, and community health.
Duane Knudson: biomechanics of tennis, stretching, qualitative movement diagnosis, learning biomechanical concepts, as well as influence and quality of research in biomechanics and kinesiology.
Stacey Bender: aspects of prenatal/postpartum women and physical activity research
Lyn Litchke: drumming, movement to music, yoga, tai chi, aqua chi and Qigong for persons with disabilities across the lifespan in particular, children with Neurodevelopmental Disorders (intellectual, autism, down syndrome, cerebral palsy); veterans with PTSD and persons with Alzhiemer's disease.
Mary Dixon: Socio-ecological influences on obesity and nutrition-related chronic health conditions; Community-based nutrition programs; Community-Based Participatory Research
Lindsay Kipp: are sport and exercise psychology and youth development.  

Arlene Salazar

Arlene Salazar's picture
Arlene Salazar
Contact:
512.245.3844
Website