Skip to Main Content

EDP 1350: Effective Learning: Suggested Databases

This is a course guide for Educational Psychology (EDP) 1350, Effective Learning.

Academic Databases

Find the full list of databases on the Research Databases page. Here are a few suggested databases:

Start Your Research
This database combines the library catalog with several of the most commonly used databases. If you search here, you should get a lot of results (print and digital) that cover a wide range of subjects.
 

Multi-Subject: Try these databases as a starting point for your research or if your topic doesn't fit into any one subject.

Academic Search Ultimate
Multi-subject database with full-text journals, trade/professional publications, and newspapers.  Articles dating back to 1887
 
JSTOR
Multi-Subject.  Especially good for scholarly content.
 
MasterFILE Complete
Multi-Subject. This is a collection of popular full-text magazines, journals, and other highly-regarded sources from the world's leading publishers.  The database includes a wide variety of general interest subject areas, including business, education, health, general science, and multicultural issues. Also contains more than 1.2 million photos, maps, and flags; more than 55,000 primary source documents; almost 1000 reference books and thousands of biographies.
 

Specific Disciplines: Try these databases for specific subject areas

CINAHL Complete
Nursing, health administration, health information management, long term care, health services, physical therapy, respiratory care, radiation therapy, communication disorders, clinical laboratory science & other allied health disciplines.
 
Scholarly research in education and education-related social issues.
 
ERIC
Education journals & documents from the U.S. Department of Education.
 
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family and society studies.
 
PsycINFO
Peer reviewed journal articles and books in psychology, counseling and related fields, such as sociology, linguistics, medicine, law, physiology, business, psychiatry, and anthropology. Includes international material selected from more than 2,500 publications.
 
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes journal articles and book reviews in over 300 periodicals in the social sciences, dating back to 1983. Selected full-text from 1994 to present.
 
Sociology Source Ultimate
Includes information about sociology, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, and welfare topics.1881 to present.
 

What is the Periodical List?

Not every database contains the full text of every article. However, you may be able to find the full text in another of the library's databases. To find out where you can find a particular periodical online or in print, use the Periodical List.

(click on the image to see a larger version)

What is Full Text Finder?

Full Text Finder searches all of the library's databases to see if the full text is available anywhere else.  If the full-text article is NOT available in any database, you have a couple of options:

  1. Check Periodicals on the library homepage. The library may have a print copy.
  2. If not, you can order the article through InterLibrary Loan for free.