Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database |
Reviews for atlases, biographies, encyclopedias, baby board books, fantasy, folklore, history, horror, mystery, poetry, science, & sports books for preK-12 through young adult, professionals or parents. Search by: Reading level;Genre; Language; Age; Grade level; Title; Author; Illustrator; Series; Publisher; Publication date; ISBN; Subject headings.
Picture Book Database
Bibliographic information for 20,000 records of picture storybooks, beginning readers, and graphic formats. Find books by: artistic media and style; character traits; literary devices;literacy tie-ins; genres; narrative formats; series; characters; country of origin; age ranges
Reading Education. This database includes instructional materials and enrichment for K-12 reading and library activities. Resources include streaming author interviews, book readings, author websites and blogs, video book trailers, ready-to-use evaluated lesson plans and book discussion guides.
MLA International Bibliography
The children's literature field does not have a unique database, but databases related to literature, education, book reviews are general starting points; MLA is a good place to start to find reviews and criticism of children's literature, including fairy tales and nursery rhymes.
Book Review Index 1908-1982
Book Review Index provides reviews for over 1.5 million English-language adult and juvenile fiction & non-fiction books. Detailed indexing of over 500 key English-language popular magazines, newspapers, academic journals and library review media.
Renaissance Accelerated Reader Book Levels are available for books available in the Juvenile Collection. The reading levels are hyperlinked so that if you find a book with a Reading Level of 3.1 (Third grade, month one), you can click to find more books with that same reading level. More reading levels are being added on a weekly basis, so keep checking back to see what new titles now have reading level information available. If the book does not have a reading level it either is not an AR book or a reading level has not yet been assigned, so always check the AR BookFinder.