Search Tips
Use the most important keywords in your question:
ex. "Did pirates practice a form of democracy?"
extract pirate and democracy for starting your search
Keep words that should be searched as an exact phrase enclosed in quotation marks:
ex. "jolly roger"
When you locate an item that answers your research question, use that item's keywords and subject terms to locate similar items
Look at the Bibliography and/or References in books and articles that you have found to help find more relevant titles.
Key Databases for Piracy Research
Each database listed below allows you to search many journals and other sources simultaneously. In order to access any of these databases, you will need to login with your Texas State netID/Password if you are off cammpus.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowUnited States history, Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowHathi Trust makes over 8.8 million volumes of digitized book and journal collections available from some of the nation’s great research libraries. Materials published from 1600-date are included
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowArticles about the history of the world (excluding the United States) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 2,300 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR includes journal content, primary sources, images, and more across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. NOTE: JSTOR does not include the most recent issues of journals.
- Project Muse This link opens in a new windowArticles covering all aspects of history and other disciplines
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowGreat place to find out what's been written on Pirates in the world of dissertations and theses. Be sure and look at the bibliographies for hints on finding even more sources.
