Most Cited Articles
Commonly Used Databases - Multi Subject
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large full-text multidisciplinary collection of scholarly journals, trade/professional publications, and newspapers. 1887-present.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all key fields of the humanities. Includes articles, interviews, obituaries, original works of fiction, drama, poetry, and reviews. Indexing from 1900, full text from 1909 to present.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals and books. Access begins with the first volume for many journal titles, but usually does not have the newest volumes of each journal.
What is the Periodical List?
Not every database contains the full text of every article. However, you may be able to find the full text in another of the library's databases. To find out where you can find a particular periodical online or in print, use the Periodical List.
(click on the image to see a larger version)
Lit Reviews, Dissertations & Thesis, Digital Collections
Web of Science is an extremely useful database for literature reviews. It provides how many times an article has been cited, and by whom.
CiteSeer also serves as a citation index showing who has cited whom.
Dissertations & Theses contains citations for dissertations & theses from 1861 to the present. Titles published since 1997 are available for download in PDF format.
Digital Collections @TxState contains full text dissertations, theses, pre-prints, post-prints, datasets, journals, conference papers, reports, presentations from Texas State University.
Family & Consumer Science Databases
This page has a listing of frequently used research databases for Family and Consumer Sciences courses.
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThe main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive international index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 1887 to present.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and book reviews in the social sciences (anthropology, economics, education, philosophy, political science, law, and sociology). 1983-present
- Social Work Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes social work and related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, welfare, aging, substance abuse, and community organization. 1977-present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related fields. International in scope. 1952 to present. Simultaneous user limit is 8.
Newspapers
- Austin American Statesman- Historical This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the major daily newspaper for Austin, the capital city of Texas. 1871-
- NewsBank - America's and World News This link opens in a new windowThousands of U.S. and international news sources from around the world. It features most major U.S. news sources, including Texas newspapers, and many local and regional titles. Dates vary by title.
The following newspapers can be accessed through Newspaper Source Plus:
Austin-American Stateman
Dallas Morning News
New York Times
Washington Post
Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Accessing Google Scholar from the Library Databases page will link to the subscription sources available to you as a Texas State Student. If you do not use the library link for off campus access, you won't be able to access library-subscribed content. If you are off campus, you will be prompted for your TxState NetID to search Google Scholar.