| Google Scholar |
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote (refers to Desktop EndNote)
- Ulrich'sTo find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library databases allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.
Databases
Try Start Your Research first! Search results can be limited to citations from Peer Reviewed journals.
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowScholarly research covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, & testing. 1900 to present.
- ERIC (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Education journals and documents (research reports, evaluation studies, curriculum guides & lesson plans collected by the U.S. Dept. of Education). 1966 to present.
- Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowResearch, policy, and practice literature in the fields of family and society studies. 1970 to present.
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive international index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 1887 to present.
- Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and book reviews in the social sciences (anthropology, economics, education, philosophy, political science, law, and sociology). 1983-present
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes research focused on social work topics like social welfare, policy, community development, crisis intervention, homelessness, abuse, and neglect. 1980-present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related fields. International in scope. 1952 to present. Simultaneous user limit is 8.
- Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive scholarship on sociology and related fields (anthropology, criminology, etchnic studies, gender studies, social psychology, substance abuse, urban studies). 1895-present.
ILL - Scan Request - TexShare
- Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own. Use ILLIAD, the online interlibrary loan request system, to order your ILL items. Typical turnaround for a book is 1-2 weeks and must be picked up at and returned to the library. Articles are sent to requestors via email.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.408.3996; Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the main floor of Alkek Library. - Scanning RequestThe University Libraries will scan and deliver chapters and articles from its print resources. Current Texas State students, faculty, and staff are eligible to use this service. We will scan chapters and articles only (max. 50 pages). We cannot scan entire books or journal issues. Limit: 1 request per person per day. Please allow three (3) working days for processing. Library staff will deliver an electronic file via ILLiad or via email.
- TexShareA TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at Participating Libraries.