Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Poetry: Databases

Research guide for the study of poetry

Full-Text Poetry

LOC How to find a Poem

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry | Indexes approximately 250,000 poems in anthologies & includes approximately 13,000 full text poems. Biographical and bibliographical data is included on a few hundred leading poets.
Literature Online (LION) | Collection of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, 192 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. The Poets On Screen Library contains 839 clips of poets reading their own and other poets' work.
Litfinder | Includes more than 126,500 full-text poems, 850,000 poem citations and excerpts. Also includes biographies, work summaries, photographs, and a glossary.
Twentieth-Century American Poetry | Contains 50,000 poems by over 300 poets. The complete text of each poem has been included, and any integral textual images and illustrations have been scanned. Includes additional information relating directly to the poetry, such as prefaces or introductions, as well as any prose sections of the volumes that are significant to the works.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry | Collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day.

Browse our Poetry Journals

Recommended Library Databases