| ILL - Scan Request - TexShare
-
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)ILL is a free library lending service available to current TxState students and employees. ILL borrows items from other libraries that the Alkek Library does not own. Use ILLIAD, the online interlibrary loan request system, to order your ILL items. Typical turnaround for a book is 1-2 weeks and must be picked up at and returned to the library. Articles are sent to requestors via email.
Contact & Pick-up Info: 512.408.3996; Items can be picked up at the Ask Alkek Desk on the main floor of Alkek Library. -
Scanning RequestThe University Libraries will scan and deliver chapters and articles from its print resources. Current Texas State students, faculty, and staff are eligible to use this service. We will scan chapters and articles only (max. 50 pages). We cannot scan entire books or journal issues. Limit: 1 request per person per day. Please allow three (3) working days for processing. Library staff will deliver an electronic file via ILLiad or via email.
-
TexShareA TexShare card is free for all current Texas State students and employees and provides borrowing privileges at Participating Libraries.
Library Catalog
-
Library CatalogThe Library Catalog is like a store catalog - it's a list of items available at the University Libraries. Use the Library Catalog to search for print resources, multimedia resources, and ebooks. The Library Catalog also provides location and availability details. The library catalog is a type of database, so you can use the same search strategies you would use in a database, including "phrase searching," Boolean operators, and truncation.
-
Start Your ResearchBooks, eBooks, and multimedia can also be searched using Start Your Research by limiting a search to Library Catalog.
-
Google BooksSearches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition (OCR), and stored in its digital database. Books are provided either by publishers and authors or by Google's library partners through the Library Project. Additionally, Google has partnered with a number of magazine publishers to digitize their archives.
-
WorldCatIndexes items owned by libraries throughout the U.S. and internationally. Items not owned by Texas State may be requestable via interlibrary loan.
Getting Started | Background Information
-
Aphasia and Other Acquired Neurogenic Language Disorders, 2nd ed.
by
Covering an array of evidence-based content, including aphasia, traumatic brain injury, dementia, and language in aging, Aphasia and Other Acquired Neurogenic Language Disorders: A Guide for Clinical Excellence, Second Edition is a must-have textbook for clinicians and students studying to be speech-language pathologists. This clinical guide strategically addresses scientific foundations, service delivery, international and multicultural perspectives, assessment, and treatment. Organized to maximize adult learning, the book is adaptable for multiple pedagogic methods for classroom-based courses, independent study, and online learning. The second edition provides clinicians and students a clear pathway for quality and effectiveness in clinical practice. New to the Second Edition Expanded content to reflect important recent developments throughout, with findings from over 500 new studies A thoroughly updated chapter on primary progressive aphasia and other neurodegenerative conditions Enhanced and updated foci on cognitive-communicative challenges associated with dementia, traumatic brain injury, and right brain injury Inclusion of additional voices of people with neurogenic conditions to highlight person-centered strengths and needs Updated attention to culturally responsive terminology and content throughout to promote diversity, equity, and inclusion Improved information flow based on reviewers' feedback, while maintaining structure to ease transitions in course design for instructors who used the first edition Many new images and illustrations to support learning Abundant resources to encourage research collaboration and career development, and to promote supportive networks for people affected by neurogenic communication disorders Expanded foci on evidence-based practice, practice-based evidence, participatory research, and implementation science Key Features A rigorous approach to the art and science of clinical practice, integrating diverse theoretical perspectives for a global readership Guidance on advocacy, ethics, reimbursement, legal aspects, and counseling An emphasis on person-centered, empowering approaches to maximize life participation Extensive assessment resources and a process analysis approach for analyzing communicative performance and interpreting assessment results How-to content on more than 50 intervention approaches Diagrams, charts, illustrations, summary tables, a substantial glossary, a detailed index, and rich up-to-date references Content design applying adult learning research to maximize deep learning Systematic queries that enliven clear objectives for knowledge, skills/application, and values
ISBN: 9781635501629Publication Date: 2019-11-01 -
Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology, 6th ed.
by
This thoroughly updated sixth edition of the best-selling text Assessment in Speech-Language Pathology remains an invaluable resource for instructors, students, and clinicians. The book covers the diagnosis and evaluation of a wide range of communication disorders in adults and children. This one-of-a-kind manual provides a comprehensive package of reference materials, explanations of assessment procedures, practical stimulus suggestions, and hands-on worksheets and screening forms. The highly practical resource is separated into four easy-to-navigate sections: Part I highlights preparatory considerations; Part II includes procedures and materials for obtaining, interpreting, and reporting assessment information; Part III provides materials and suggestions for assessing communicative disorders. Part IV presents a quick-reference section, providing information on hearing considerations and medical diagnoses. This must-have sixth edition reflects the latest research, best practices, and important trends and developments for assessment in speech-language pathology. New to the Sixth Edition Updated content throughout to reflect current research and practice New chapter on Selective Mutism New section covering the assessment of transgender voice Updated Sources of Additional Information in every chapter, with addition of recommended mobile applications for speech-language assessment Key Features Full-color design with images, charts, and illustrations to engage readers and display key concepts Each chapter concludes with practical forms, including worksheets, checklists, and additional sources of information Glossary of key terms Chapter tabs with separate colors for quick and easy access
ISBN: 9781635502091Publication Date: 2021
-
The Cambridge Handbook of Communication Disorders
by
Many children and adults experience impairment of their communication skills. These communication disorders impact adversely on all aspects of these individuals' lives. In thirty dedicated chapters, The Cambridge Handbook of Communication Disorders examines the full range of developmental and acquired communication disorders and provides the most up-to-date and comprehensive guide to the epidemiology, aetiology and clinical features of these disorders. The volume also examines how these disorders are assessed and treated by speech and language therapists and addresses recent theoretical developments in the field. The handbook goes beyond well-known communication disorders to include populations such as children with emotional disturbance, adults with non-Alzheimer dementias and people with personality disorders. Each chapter describes in accessible terms the most recent thinking and research in communication disorders. The volume is an ideal guide for academic researchers, graduate students and professionals in speech and language therapy.
ISBN: 9781139108683Publication Date: 2015-03-05 -
Concise Encyclopedia of Brain and Language
by
This volume descibes, in up-to-date terminology and authoritative interpretation, the field of neurolinguistics, the science concerned with the neural mechanisms underlying the comprehension, production and abstract knowledge of spoken, signed or written language. An edited anthology of 165 articles from the award-winning Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics 2nd edition, Encyclopedia of Neuroscience 4th Edition and Encyclopedia of the Neorological Sciences and Neurological Disorders, it provides the most comprehensive one-volume reference solution for scientists working with language and the brain ever published.- Authoritative review of this dynamic field placed in an interdisciplinary context- Approximately 165 articles by leaders in the field- Compact and affordable single-volume format
ISBN: 9780080964997Publication Date: 2010-04-08 -
Handbook of Communication Disorders
by
The domain of Communication Disorders has grown exponentially in the last two decades and has come to encompass much more than audiology, speech impediments and early language impairment. The realization that most developmental and learning disorders are language-based or language-related has brought insights from theoretical and empirical linguistics and its clinical applications to the forefront of Communication Disorders science. The current handbook takes an integrated psycholinguistic, neurolinguistic, and sociolinguistic perspective on Communication Disorders by targeting the interface between language and cognition as the context for understanding disrupted abilities and behaviors and providing solutions for treatment and therapy. Researchers and practitioners will be able to find in this handbook state-of-the-art information on typical and atypical development of language and communication (dis)abilities across the human lifespan from infancy to the aging brain, covering all major clinical disorders and conditions in various social and communicative contexts, such as spoken and written language and discourse, literacy issues, bilingualism, and socio-economic status.
ISBN: 9781614514909Publication Date: 2018-04-23 -
The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders
by
"The MIT Encyclopedia of Communication Disorders will become the standard reference in this field for both research and clinical use. It offers almost 200 detailed entries, covering the entire range of communication and speech disorders in children and adults, from basic science to clinical diagnosis." "MITECD is divided into four sections that reflect the standard categories within the field (also known as speech-language pathology and audiology): Voice, Speech, Language, and Hearing. Within each category, entries are organized into three subsections: Basic Science, Disorders, and Clinical Management. Basic Science includes relevant information on normal anatomy and physiology, physics, psychology and psychophysics, and linguistics; this provides a scientific foundation for entries in the other subsections. The entries that appear under Disorders offer information on the definition and characterization of specific disorders, and tools for their identification and assessment. The Clinical Management subsection describes appropriate interventions, including behavioral, pharmacological, surgical, and prosthetic."--BOOK JACKET.
ISBN: 9780585480169Publication Date: 2004-01-01 -
Routledge Handbook of Communication Disorders
by
The Routledge Handbook of Communication Disorders provides an update on key issues and research in the clinical application of the speech, language and hearing sciences in both children and adults. Focusing on areas of cutting-edge research, this handbook showcases what we know about communication disorders, and their assessment and treatment. It emphasizes the application of theory to clinical practice throughout, and is arranged by the four key bases of communication impairments: Neural/Genetic Bases Perceptual-Motor Bases Cognitive-Linguistic Bases Socio-Cultural Bases. The handbook ends with an integrative section, which looks at innovative ways of working across domains to arrive at novel assessment and treatment ideas. It is an important reference work for researchers, students and practitioners working in communication science and speech and language therapy.
ISBN: 9781136737565Publication Date: 2015-04-24 -
The SAGE encyclopedia of human communication sciences and disorders
by
ISBN: 9781506353340Publication Date: 2019 -
The SAGE Handbook of Dyslexia
by
The SAGE Handbook of Dyslexia is a comprehensive overview of a complex field. It is a rich, critical assessment of past and present theory and current research, which also looks to the future. The editors have brought together key figures from the international academic world - both researchers and practitioners - to examine the relationships between theoretical paradigms, research and practice, and to map new areas of research. The book has 5 main sections: - neurological/genetic perspectives - cognitive and learning perspectives - educational influences - beyond school - international perspectives.
ISBN: 9781848600379Publication Date: 2009-02-24
