Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search by keywords and small phrases.
Maximize your keyword searches with Boolean searching. What's Boolean?
Use "quotation marks" to search for whole phrases.
Use the database’s built in limiting features. Some databases have a filter for full-text or scholarly journals.
Consider truncation. The symbol used is usually *.
COUNSEL* will retrieve:
counseling, counsel, counselors, counselor, counselled, etc.
Try using the database’s subject terms. Those are listed in the database’s thesaurus, or they may be listed near the article abstract.
Try Start Your Research first! Search results can be limited to citations from Peer Reviewed journals.
Nursing, health administration, health information management, long term care, health services physical therapy, respiratory care, radiation therapy, communication disorders, clinical laboratory science & other allied health disciplines. 1937-present
Social Sciences Full Text
Covers anthropology, community health and medicine, economics, environmental sciences, geography, international relations, law and criminology, police science, planning and public administration, psychology, psychiatry, political science, sociology, and social work. 1983-present
Communication, mass media, linguistics, speech-language pathology, and related fields. Incorporates the content of Communication and Mass Media Complete and Communication Abstracts. 1915-present
Evidence-based practices for speech pathologists. Provides access to citations and, where possible, abstracts from systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, non-randomised controlled trials, single-case experimental designs and case series. speechBITE also indexes clinical practice guidelines of relevance to speech pathology practice. To assist clinicians with interpreting the methodological quality of the treatment studies, speechBITE provides ratings on the PEDro-P scale for randomised and non-randomised controlled trials. *
Biomedicine, Behavioral Sciences, Bioengineering, Pre-clinical Science, Health Policy Development and Life Sciences. With approximately 5,400 current medical journals from around the world, this is the largest companion to the MEDLINE index. Full text is available for approximately one half of the journals.
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and online books. 1949-present.
Sociology, anthropology, economics, education, medicine, community development, philosophy, political science, demography, and social psycholog. 1952-present. *
Sociology Source Ultimate
Sociology, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, and welfare. 1895-present
* Not searched in Start Your Research
You can search for a specific journal/magazine/newspaper title using Periodical List.
LinkSource checks our other databases to find a copy of your article in one of our other databases. Sometimes you'll see this image:
Google Scholar can be a useful tool when collecting research information. Settings can be updated to display:
Library Links - FindIt@Txstate
Bibliography Manager - EndNote
To find out if a journal is considered Refereed/Peer-Reviewed, check the Ulrich's database by doing a search for the title of the journal. Many library research databases accessible allow searches to be limited to articles published in Peer-Reviewed journals.