Tips for finding books
The library has many sources that may be of interest when exploring early American history.
Always try searching our online catalog first, you'll be surprised what you find!
Here are just a few examples of some useful subject headings to use when searching the catalog-
United States History Colonial Period Ca 1600 1775 Sources
United States History Revolution 1775 1783 Sources
United States Foreign Relations 1775 1783 Sources
United States -- Politics and government -- 1775-1783.
North America -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
Great Britain -- Colonies -- America
Indians of North America -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783 -- Social aspects
United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783 -- Influence.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1775-1783.
United States -- Politics and government -- 1783-1809.
North America -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
Great Britain -- Colonies -- America
United States History Revolution 1775 1783 Foreign Public Opinion British
Indians of North America -- History -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775
| United States History 1783 1815 |
Pequot War 1636 1638
Remember: You can sort your results by date to get the items oldest (or newest) first in your results lists.
Tips for finding primary sources
Perform a KEYWORD search in the Alkek library online catalog to find books or other materials on your topic
- Add one of the following primary source terms to your search: Correspondence, Description and Travel, Diaries, Interviews, Personal Narratives, Sources, or Speeches
** Example: United States Foreign Relations sources
Books from other libraries
If you are interested in books which are not owned by the Alkek Library, they can be requested via our Interlibrary Loan service and we will borrow them from another library. This is a free service available to current Texas State Students, Faculty, Staff. NOTE: This process takes 7-10 days for books.
To request a book, open our ILLIAD link for interlibrary loan and fill out the online request form.
If you have not used the service before, just click near the bottom of the page at the "First time users" link to set up your free account.
WorldCat is a database to look at to find out which libraries own books that might not be available in the Alkek Library. Use the "request this item via ILL" link in each record to generate an ILL request to Texas State.
Library of Congress is a great source of information as well. In addition to the extensive catalog of books, a lot of digital primary source materials and other information is available here as well.
- HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new windowA great source for digitized books from research libraries around the U.S. Books can be downloaded and are fully searchable.
Google Books V. Google Scholar- What's the difference?
What's the difference between Google Books & Google Scholar?
Here's a handy chart to explain the uses of each-
Books
Peter Porcupine in America by Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 E311 .C658 1994Peter Porcupine was the pseudonym for the Englishman William Cobbett, the most widely read pamphleteer and journalist in the early American republic. In this book David A. Wilson brings together seven of Cobbett's major American pamphlets with extracts from his newspaper writing and provides an introduction that locates him in the political and social context of his time.
American archives: consisting of a collection of authentick records, state papers, debates, and letters and other notices of publick affairs, the whole forming a documentary history of the origin and progress of the North American colonies; of the causes- Jamestown Narratives by Call Number: 5th floor F234.J3 J34 1998ISBN: 0966471202Publication Date: 1998-01-01
- The Journal of John Winthrop, 1630-1649Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 F67 .W784 1996ISBN: 0674484258For 350 years Governor John Winthrop's journal has been recognized as the central source for the history of Massachusetts in the 1630s and 1640s. Winthrop reported events--especially religious and political events--more fully and more candidly than any other contemporary observer.
Debating the Issues in Colonial Newspapers by Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 E187 .C78 2000ISBN: 0313309825Also available as an ebook
Interpreting a Continent by Call Number: General Collection, Floor 5 E187 .I58 2009ISBN: 9780742551824Publication Date: 2009-03-16This reader provides important documents for colonial American history, including new English translations of non-English documents. It reflects current scholarship and teaching that includes all of North America and non-Europeans in the story of colonial America, which is no longer simply the story of the thirteen colonies that revolted against the British Empire but also of Spaniards, French, Dutch, Africans, and various Native Americans.
Bibliography of Printed Battle Plans of the American Revolution, 1775-1795 by Call Number: General Collection, Floor 6 Z6026.H6 N33ISBN: 0226569586Publication Date: 2007- Our American Brethren by Call Number: 5th floor- E249.3 .G74 1995ISBN: 9780786400867Publication Date: 1995-05-01Much of what the British public knew about the American Revolution was learned through letters from readers published in the British press. These letters, to six of the most influential British newspapers of the time, provide a unique look at how the British public viewed the American Revolution.
- History of the Pequot war;the contemporary accounts of Mason, Underhill, Vincent and Gardener. by Call Number: EbookPublication Date: 1897First hand accounts from war participants.
