Bibliography Mining
If someone has already done research on a topic you are investigating you are encouraged to seek out the same sources. Sometimes you may find an abundant amount of material that wasn't important to them, but is perfect for you. Other times you may find you disagree with their interpretation, which will give you something to write about from a fresh perspective.
Theses and dissertations are a great place to find bibliographies (sometimes called literature reviews) Many can be found in this database-
- Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowWorld's largest collection of full-text theses and dissertations. 1861 to present.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowBe sure and always use this link to Google Scholar (from the library homepage) as it is keyed to let you know what articles the library at Texas State has access to.
Mostly secondary sources but, bibliographies can point to the primary materials.
Finding Articles & Documents on Early America
The library has many databases dealing with historical topics. A full list of those database is avilable here The databases listed below are some good starting points for your research.
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowUnited States and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present. The database indexes all key journals in the discipline, state and local history publications. Indexing from 1895, full text from 1935.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text coverage of hundreds of scholarly journals.
NOTE: The most recent issues of journals are NOT available here, see "America: History & Life" link above for most recent scholarship. - Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Journals and ebooks from major university presses on literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy, political science, gender studies, and more.
- C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new windowProvides integrated access to 13 bibliographic indexes including the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Niles' Registe,r Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online, British Periodicals Collections I and II, plus the new Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century Journalism.
