Research Databases (all disciplines) | All Nursing Databases
Searching Multiple Databases
- Start Your Research This link opens in a new window
Search multiple databases and different types of content together. Databases searched include the library's catalog, Texas State Digital Collections repository, and many but not all Texas State licensed databases.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Large full-text multidisciplinary collection of scholarly journals, trade/professional publications, and newspapers. 1887-present.
- Omnifile Full Text, Mega Edition (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database appropriate for research in all core undergraduate subjects and for cross-disciplinary work. Indexing 1982 to present, full text 1994 to present
Key Databases
- CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new windowThe main nursing and allied health database containing full-text articles, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, and clinical trials, as well as citations to books, dissertations, and conference proceedings. 1937 to present.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of evidence-based medicine databases including systematic reviews, controlled trials, methodologies, evaluations and technology assessments.
- JBI database of systematic reviews and implementation reports This link opens in a new windowSystematic review protocols and systematic reviews of healthcare research following the JBI methodology. 2003-present.
- MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database providing access to biomedical and health journals. An important resource for doctors, nurses, health professionals and researchers engaged in clinical care, public health and health policy development. 1865 to present.
- ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals, evidence based resources, and dissertations.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, additional life science journals, and online books. 1949-present
Other Databases Worth Considering
- Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Indexes nursing, allied health, and medical journals, consumer health magazines and newsletters, and health pamphlets. 1980-present.
- LWW Nursing & Health Professions Premier Collection This link opens in a new windowJournals of interest to nursing, allied health, and health administration students and professionals. Current.
- Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive collection of evidence-based clinical information for nursing practice, education, and research at the point of care. Includes Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses, continuing education modules, and videos.
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive international index of peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 1887 to present.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers in sociology and related fields. International in scope. 1952-present.
Citation Management
Have a lot of citations you want to enter in your works cited/references list? Try a citation manager.
Do you need the Web or Desktop version?
- EndNoteA citation management tool that enables you to:
- Organize your research Include citations while you write your paper
- Build a bibliography in a variety of formats
- Import references from library databases and Google Scholar.